Your browser does not support JavaScript.
Coulter Library
site map
ask a librarian
 
 

Education Research Guide

This guide contains library resources and librarian reviewed websites specific to Education topics.

Additional education specific guides: Early Childhood Education, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Physical Education

  • Websites (4)
  • Library Resources (4)
  • Research Help (2)

Librarian reviewed Education websites

Center for Public Education

This joint initiative of the National School Boards Association and National School Boards Foundation offers articles about public schools, guides to current education issues, a glossary of education terms, and summaries of recent research.

Subject: Education

Resource Type: website

Digest of Education Statistics

A compilation of American education statistics. Information includes number of schools, number of teachers, enrollment rates, finance information and a host of other tables and charts. The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics.

Subject: Education

Resource Type: statistics

Literacy Center.Net

The Early Childhood Education Network provides free, professionally designed education material online for preschool-age children. Exercises are presented in English, Spanish, French and German.

Subject: Education, Early Childhood Education

Resource Type: website

New York State Education Department Core Curriculum

Education content standards for grades K-12 for the state of New York. This website provides the academic standards and proficiencies set for students at each grade level in areas such as language, math, science, social studies, and more. Standards available in PDF format.

Subject: Education

Resource Type: website,government

Library resources available online or Coulter Library

Articles+

ERIC login required off-campus

EBSCO's version of the ERIC database provides journal articles and reports on education topics. Coverage: 1966-present. Updated: monthly.

Subject: Education, Early Childhood Education, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Physical Education

Resource Type: article,report

Books

Education in Crisis: A Reference Handbook New Resource

REF AC191. O65 2009 EDU

This resource addresses vital issues in today's society; this work focuses on the issue of education. Clearly written, up-to-date, and objective, this work is suitable for anyone wanting to know more about the current state of education and how it compares to the past. A detailed chronology of education helps one put information in the work into context, while 27 biographies give a personal touch to the field of education. A section on facts, data, and other primary source materials make this an excellent resource for student researchers needing primary materials.

Subject: Education

Resource Type: book

Almanac of American Education

REF LB2846 .A45 2004

The Almanac of American Education is an outstanding resource for statistical information and trends in education. Compiled from a variety of sources published by other entities, such as the U.S. Census Bureau and the National Center for Education Statistics, the almanac is excellent for one stop shopping for anyone who needs to quickly find the most recent American educational statistic available. The almanac is divided into three main sections: National Education Statistics, Region and State Education Statistics, and County Education Statistics. Detailed explanations of definitions, resources, and abbreviations are also included. If more information is needed, or more up-to-date statistics are sought, an annotated list of Internet resources is provided.

Subject: Education

Resource Type: book

Encyclopedia of American Education

REF LB17.U54 2001

This 3-volume reference work contains more than 2,00 entries with facts, figures, and interpretive text relating to every facet of American education. Entries include: academic quality, bullying, charter schools, distance learning, home schooling, media centers, prayer in school, and many more. The numerous entries are enhanced by informative appendixes, which include an extensive bibliography for each subject area, a general chronology of American higher education, a summary of significant federal education legislation, U.S. Supreme Court decisions on education, and undergraduate offerings in education.

Subject: Education

Resource Type: book

Reserve Readings

Find course reserve items available online and/or in Coulter Library

Call the reserve department if you have any questions (498-2339)

Various research resources and services that are available

How Do I...

Cite My Paper?
This guide provides resources to assist you in citing your paper using either MLA or APA style.

Access the Research Databases from Off-campus?
This guide provides directions on how to access library subscriptions including research databases from off-campus.