Your browser does not support JavaScript.
Coulter Library
site map
ask a librarian
 
 

Research Guide

This guide contains library resources and librarian reviewed websites specific to topics.

  • Websites (3)
  • Library Resources (4)
  • Research Help (2)

Librarian reviewed websites

Ancient History Sourcebook

Hallsall's Ancient History Sourcebook provides an extensive variety of Ancient primary source texts available online. This resource provides examples of documents from Ancient Egypt, Mespotamia, Persia, Greece and the Hellenistic World, Rome, late antiquity, and the origins of the Christian faith.

Subject: Western Civilization

Resource Type: website

Historical Text Archive

Articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos and links for a broad range of historical subjects.

Subject: History, American History, Western Civilization, World History

Resource Type: website

Medieval History Sourcebook

Hallsall's Medieval History Sourcebook provides primary source texts from Medieval European Civilization available online. This resource picks up where the Ancient History Sourbook lets off, providing primary source documents from the end of Rome, to the Byzantine Empire, the Papacy and the Holy Roman Empire, to the Renaissance and Reformation.

Subject: Western Civilization

Resource Type: website

Library resources available online or Coulter Library

Articles+

Gale World History in Context login required off-campus New Resource

World History in Context is a comprehensive online collection that uses an intuitive, Web-like interface to provide multicultural, global and research-based dynamic content that supports today's history research requirements.

Subject: History, Western Civilization, World History

Resource Type: multi-type

World History Collection login required off-campus New Resource

This collection of nearly 40 predominantly full-text journals provides coverage of events in World History.

Subject: Western Civilization, World History

Resource Type: article

Books

Europe 1450-1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World

REF D209.E97 2009

This 6 volume encyclopedia contains key topics related to the period in Europe following the Renaissance. This era is defined by significant social and political discoveries, as well as the discovery and settlement of the New World. Volumes are organized alphabetically with each topic providing a bibliography of additional resourcesNew.

Subject: Western Civilization

Resource Type: book

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome

REF DE5.095 2010

This 7 volume encyclopedia contains key Greco-Roman events, peoples and concepts. Each volume includes maps and other pictures. Topics are arranged alphabetically and provide bibliographies for additional research.

Subject: Western Civilization

Resource Type: book

Reserve Readings

Find course reserve items available online and/or in Coulter Library

Call the reserve department if you have any questions (498-2339)

Various research resources and services that are available

How Do I...

Cite My Paper?
This guide provides resources to assist you in citing your paper using either MLA or APA style.

Access the Research Databases from Off-campus?
This guide provides directions on how to access library subscriptions including research databases from off-campus.