All Items by Source

Associations

British History Online
A digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. BHO was founded by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliment Trust in 2003. The collection currently contains over 1,270 volumes and is continually growing.

Database

A to Z the World Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This database provides reliable, up-to-date facts and information on different countries in many different categories. It is intended for students, researchers, educators, travelers, and logistics and international trade professionals. It includes country profiles as well as digital reference information, maps, books, and atlases.
Salem Press - History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned historical content both in traditional, printed form and online.  This resource includes access to The Reference Shelf:  an online collection of current titles of historical significance. Also includes Defining Documents and Milestone Documents in American History and World History.
World History in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
World History in Context is a comprehensive online collection that uses an intuitive, web-like interface to provide multicultural, global and research-based dynamic content that supports today's history research requirements. Reference books, audio and video content, biographies, articles and more. Includes detailed biographical information on more than 100 famous historical figures.

Encyclopedias

Africana: The Encyclopedia of African and Afro American Experience
Print Location: REF DT14.A37435 2005 Some full text available Resource contains images
This 5 volume set examines the African continent and its peoples. Each volume contains events regarding the African diaspora and historical events which have shaped the cultures of diverse African groups in Africa and throughout the world. Topics are alphabetically organized and include bibliographic records for further studies.
Ancient Gods Speak: A Guide to Egyptian Religion
Print Location: REF BL2428 A53 2002
Over 90 in-depth articles ranging from Anubis, the dog-headed god of the underworld, to the Opening of the Mouth, the cultic ceremony of reanimation. Readers will find informative and fascinating entries on deities, burial practices, cults, demons, fantastic animals, magic, oracles, sacred writings, festivals, myths, the afterlife, and other facets of Egyptian belief and practice. The guide includes 28 photographs and illustrations, a detailed index, and a further reading section for those wanting to explore in more detail.
Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt
Print Location: REF BL2450.G6 W56 2003
A comprehensive and authoritative guide to the deities that lay at the heart of Egyptian religion and society with hundreds of illustrations and specially commissioned drawings.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Print Location: REF DT58 O94 2001
The 3-volume resource serves as a useful reference on ancient Egypt, covering the period from the first known settlements in the Nile Delta before 5,000 BC to the end of the Pharaoh's kingdoms under Greece and Rome
Princeton Dictionary of Ancient Egypt
Print Location: REF DT58 S52 2008
A-Z entries for most key terms relating to Ancient Egypt with illustrations and color photographs, chronology and detailed index.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Print Location: REF DS4.E53 2002 Restricted Resource
This 6 volume encyclopedia offers articles about the 33 nations within the sub regions of East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Central Asia and West-Southwest Asia. Articles about each country feature a countries history, political framework and cultural identities. Articles are organized alphabetically and include bibliographies for further research.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Print Location: REF DS43.E53 2004 Some full text available Resource contains images
This 4 volume encyclopedia covers the Modern Islamic world. Entries examine politics, history, economy, religions and society. These articles feature bibliographic references for further study.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
Print Location: REF D205.O94 2008 Some full text available Resource contains images
This 8 volume encyclopedia features articles on historic events from 1750 to the present. Articles include topics from every continent providing general information and bibliographic references for further studies. The volumes are organized alphabetically.

Ebooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
The Primacy of the Political: a history of political thought from the Greeks to the French and American Revolutions Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
From the rise and fall of Athenian democracy to modern individualism and political obligation, this e-book is an overview of constantly-evolving political thought.  If you are off-campus, you will need to log in to read this book.

Journals/Magazines

History Journals at Coulter Library
A listing of history journals available digitally and in print format through Coulter Library.
World History Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Access to more than 40 scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.

Need Help?

Ask-A-Librarian Some full text availableopenURL
Coulter Library offers many ways for you to contact a librarian:

Visit the library in person, call us 315-498-2334, email  us a question or chat live in real time. Response time for email questions is usually within 2 business days.

If you use the AskUs 24/7 chat reference service, you will be able to chat live with a librarian. AskUs 24/7 is a cooperative service monitored by librarians from many states and several international libraries. You may not be chatting with an OCC librarian or even a librarian from Central New York.
Interlibrary Loan
Books that are not owned by Coulter Library, indivudal articles that are not contained as full text entries in the Library's online database subscriptions, and some media items may be able to be borrowed from other owning libraries. You must create an Illiad account online in order to request items.  Some restrictions apply. Also use Worldcat.org to search beyond the OCC collections.
Research Help Some full text availableopenURL
This Coulter Library web page provides tips for how to start your research, evaluating resources, and format guides for citing your sources. Also find tutorials for many of the library databases and services.
Research Starters
Research Starters, designed to simplify the research experience, offer short, citable summaries and authoritative overviews of more than 64,000 of the most popular topics available through EBSCO Discovery Service.

Drawn from sources such as Salem Press, Encyclopedia Britannica, and American National Biography, more than 62,000 of these 500- to 1,500-word summaries are accessible, offering an authoritative overview of a chosen subject, as well as links to other research starter summaries, or peer reviewed research where they can delve deeper into a topic.

To get started, enter your search term into the Multi-Search box to see if your topic has a Research Starter entry.

OCC Campus Resources

OCC Learning Center openURL
Help with writing when you need it, where you want it, FREE. The OCC Learning Center offers tutoring in all subject areas.  Services specific to writing and English are as follows:

1. One-on-one tutoring, usually for an hour a week.

2. NightWriter - This service combines technology with evening hours to provide nightime help with writing through WCOnline.  Students have the option of chatting with a tutor live or uploading a paper for offline comments Sunday through Thursday evenings, 9-11 PM. Tutors also are available to read and comment on written assignments on those evenings 11 PM to midnight.  Log in to WCOnline to learn more.  

Learning Center Phone: 315-498-2103.  Located at G202.

Primary Sources

World Digital Library Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
This resource makes available hundreds of primary source documents from countries and cultures throughout the world. resources are broken down by region including North America, Europe, the Middle East and North Africa, Central and South Asia, Southeast Asia, East Asia, and Oceania and the Pacific.
World History Sourcebook
Hallsall's World History Sourcebook provides primary source online texts from areas throughout the world. Subjects are broken down by region and topic, and include guides about women's studies, and scientific studies with examples from many cultures throughout the world.

Videos

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This collection includes thousands of online films on a wide variety of topics including business, science, health, history and more. Film lengths range from one or 2 minutes to 2 hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing. Films are linkable.
World History in Video Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This online collection of streaming video provides a global survey of human history from 8000 BCE to the late 1980s through almost 2000 documentaries most frequently used today in university-level classes teaching world history, ancient history, Western civilization, European history, regional history, and documentary film.

Web Sites

Ancient History Sourcebook Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Hallsall's Ancient History Sourcebook provides an extensive variety of Ancient primary source texts available online. This resource provides examples of documents from Ancient Egypt, Mespotamia, Persia, Greece and the Hellenistic World, Rome, late antiquity, and the origins of the Christian faith.
History.com
This Day in History chronology of key world events for each day of the year plus short video clips on a wide range of histroical topics.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: