All Items by Source

Associations

Women's Rights National Historical Park
Learn about the Women's Rights Movement at the Women's Rights National Park.  The park is the site of the First Women's Rights Convention where attendees signed the Declarations of Sentiments, which is what some historians consider the formal beginning of the Women's Rights Movement.  The Elizabeth Cady Stanton House is also located on the park with tours available on request.

Journals/Magazines

Women's Studies Journals at Coulter Library Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
A listing of journals addressing women's studies issues and current research at Coulter Library.  Off-campus login required.

OCC Campus Resources

Minor: Women's Studies
The Women's Studies minor is designed to meet the needs of students interested in analyzing the influences of gender on human experience including politics, medicine, psychology, history and social institutions.  -description from OCC program website

Web Sites

Feminist Majority Foundation Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The Feminist Majority Foundation (FMF), which was founded in 1987, is an organization dedicated to women's equality, their reproductive health, and non-violence. FMF uses research and action to empower women politically, socially, and economically. The name Feminist Majority Foundation is a consciousness-raiser, inspired by a Newsweek/Gallup public opinion poll that showed the majority of women (56%) in the United States self-identified as feminists. Most polls since then reveal that this majority continues with over two-thirds of young women self-identifying as feminists.
National Organization for Women Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images

The National Organization for Women (NOW) is the largest organization of feminist activists (having 500,000 contributing members) in the United States. Founded in 1966, this organizationa's main goal is to secure equality for women. NOW works to eliminate discrimination and harassment in the workplace, schools, the justice system, and all other sectors of society; secure abortion, birth control and reproductive rights for all women; end all forms of violence against women; eradicate racism, sexism and homophobia; and promote equality and justice in our society.


National Women's History Project Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The National Women's History Project NWHP) is a non - profit organization with an award winning website. The site makes information available about the changing roles of women in American history; it also recognizes the often overlooked accomplishments of multicultural American women in all facets of life including community, arts, science, medicine, government, and sports.
National Women's Studies Association
The National Women's Studies Association (NWSA) promotes the production and dissemination of knowledge about gender and women. This is accomplished through research, teaching, and service in academic and other settings. The Association has more than 350 institutional and 2,000 individual members working in various specialties in the U.S. and worldwide.
Rutgers University- Women's Studies program
Rutgers University is a globally ranking research university.  The Women's Studies program includes a graduate program that award degrees to the Ph.D. level.  
Women's March on Washington Some full text availableopenURL
This organizaton formed to adovocate for women's rights and human rights in response to the rhetoric of the last election cycle.  The major tenants of the movement focus on non-violent defense of any marginalized people group and bringing attention specifically to women's rights.  
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Jessamyn Magri

Jessamyn Magri
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982135

Return to the Subject Guide listing: