All Items by Source

Associations

Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS)
Select from the menu to browse databases, surveys, reports, and other statistical products created by BTS. Information on individual modes of transportation and for types of geography (the nation, the world, individual states, and other locations).

Books

Vital Statistics of the United States
Print Location: REF KF 485.V58
Birth, life expectancy, deaths and selected health data.

Database

Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio

Business Insights provides in depth coverage of businesses, including company profiles, industry profiles and trends, products and brands, financial reports, company rankings, histories as well as full text periodical articles from business magazines and newspapers and trade journals. 


Statista Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Statista is an online resource for statistical data. It provides statistics on more than 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. Data is categorized into 21 market sectors. Sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Statistics are displayed in graphs and can be downloaded in a number of formats including Power Point and Excel. 
 

Statistical Abstract of the United States Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Dictionaries

APA Dictionary of Statistics and Research Methods
Print Location: REF BF76.5.A7263 2014
More than 4000 entries. More than 100 illustrations of both common and uncommon data display methods. 
Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics
Print Location: REF QA276.14 .E84 2010
Nearly 4,000 terms are defined, covering medical, survey, theoretical and applied statistics, including computational and graphical aspects.
.

Handbooks & Guides

Crime in the United States
Print Location: REF HV6787 .C756 2016
Findings from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) of the offenses known to law enforcement.
Health, United States
Print Location: REF RA407.3 .H437 2015
Assessment of the nation’s health through a presentation of trends and current information on selected measures of morbidity, mortality, health care utilization and access, health risk factors, prevention, health insurance, and personal health care expenditures.
Historical Statistics of the United States: earliest times to the present
Print Location: REF HA202 .H57 2006

Journals/Magazines

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. There are millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

Need Help?

Interlibrary Loan
Books that are not owned by Coulter Library, indivudal articles that are not contained as full text entries in the Library's online database subscriptions, and some media items may be able to be borrowed from other owning libraries. You must create an Illiad account online in order to request items.  Some restrictions apply. Also use Worldcat.org to search beyond the OCC collections.
Research Help Some full text availableopenURL
This Coulter Library web page provides tips for how to start your research, evaluating resources, and format guides for citing your sources. Also find tutorials for many of the library databases and services.

Newspapers

InfoTrac Newstand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
With this full-text newspaper resource, find articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Includes indexing for the Syracuse Post Standard but not the full text articles. If you have an Onondaga County Public Library card, you can access the Syracuse Newspapers 1986-present via the Newsbank Database.
 
Newspaper Source Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources,videos & podcasts.  

Web Sites

American Economic Association Some full text availableopenURL
The American Economic Association is a professional association which encourages economic research, issues publications on economic subjects, and encourages freedom of economic discussion. The Association is non-partisan, and provides a gateway to many sources of economic data.
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
This site includes information and statistics in areas such as crime, criminal offenders, victims, criminal records systems, courts and sentencing. It also provides a list of BJS publications, and press releases.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Some full text availableopenURL
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS provides statistics that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.
Census Bureau Statistics Some full text availableopenURL
Census Bureau statistics are organized by themes, or topics, and are available for business, the economy, education, employment, living conditions, health, housing, income, poverty, and other topics.
Data.gov
Find data, tools and resources to conduct research and more.
Digest of Education Statistics Some full text availableopenURL
American education statistics, including number of schools, number of teachers, enrollment rates, finance information and a host of other tables and charts. The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics.
EDGAR Some full text availableopenURL
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.
Environment Statistics Some full text availableopenURL
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) collects environmental data from national offices on a biennial basis. A questionnaire is sent to national statistical offices as well as to the ministries/agencies responsible for environmental matters.
The data received from countries, together with data from other sources, feeds into UNSD’s evolving environment statistics database.
Fedstats Some full text availableopenURL
Fedstats makes statistics from over 100 federal agencies available to the public. A primary source for national statistics on education, labor, health, human services, housing, income, births, deaths, divorce, population,   business, trade, transportation, crime and justice, state and local areas, and much more.
GPO MetaLib - U.S. Government Printing Office Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
A federated search service from the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO). GPO MetaLib simultaneously searches more than 50 federal government publication catalogs, federal library catalogs, and specialized indexes.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The National Center for Education Statistics is the primary entity charged with the collection of data and statistics related to education in the United States. Offered here are data and datasets, data tools, "fast facts", surveys, programs, publications, and school searches in all levels of education both public and private.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is one of the largest scientific organizations in the world dedicated to research focused on the understanding, treatment, and prevention of mental disorders and the promotion of mental health. This website contains information for researchers, practitioners, and the general public and offers news, treatment options, videos, statistics, and helpful links for further information on selected topics.
National Institutes of Health Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency, making important discoveries that improve health and save lives. Up-to-date research and related health information and statistics are provided on a wide variety of consumer health topics including diabetes, heart disease, exercise, cancer, asthma, mental health, depression, high blood pressure, obesity, weight loss, and many other health-related topics.

Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan American "fact tank". Pew is based in Washington, D.C. and provides information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends shaping the United States and the world.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis Some full text availableopenURL
From the U.S. Department of Commerce, the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) provides up-to-date and accurate economic accounts data for the United States government, including gross domestic product (total and by industry) and a wide range of economic information on personal income, assets, and many other topics, often broken down by geographic area.
U.S. Department of Education - Data & Statistics Some full text available Resource contains images
U.S. Department of Education is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. There are popular datasets available at the website including the College Scorecard, Federal Student Loan Program Data, Special Education, Campus Safety, and Security Survey.
USA Facts
A new data-driven portrait of the American population, the government’s finances, and government’s impact on society. USAFacts is a non-partisan, not-for-profit civic initiative with no political agenda or commercial motive. Also offers an annual report, a summary report, and a “10-K” modeled on the document public companies submit annually to the SEC for transparency and accountability to their investors.
Wolfram Alpha
They collect and curate all objective data; implement every known model, method, and algorithm; and make it possible to compute whatever can be computed about anything. Perform dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: