Book Search
Search for in
All Items by Source

Good Places to Begin

PED101: Course Guide Some full text available
A treasure trove of information for PED101 research assignments, but also for anyone doing career research in the sports and recreation discipline.

Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.

OCC Campus Resources

Physical Education and Exercise Science, A.S.
‚ÄčThe Associate in Science (A.S.) degree in Physical Education and Exercise Science Studies is suitable for students whose goals include teaching, coaching, sports management, and careers in broad fitness and wellness fields.  This program prepares students for transfer into a bachelor's degree program in physical education, exercise science, sports management, or other fitness/health-related curricula.  The curriculum emphasizes professionalism, wellness lifestyle, health awareness and leadership by providing background knowledge and skills that form the foundation of these fields.  Required courses include health, human anatomy and physiology, exercise science, physchology and required libreral arts courses. - From the OCC program website
Physical Therapist Assistant, AAS
This program is a two-year (four consecutive semesters, followed by one summer) program leading to an Associate of Applied Science degree. It is approved by the New York State Education Department, and is fully accredited by the American Physical Therapy Association. The program begins in the fall semester only.

Your Physical Therapist Assistant A.A.S. degree will prepare you for employment as a competent entry-level physical therapist assistant. This program provides the education you need to become a skilled technical worker, prepared specifically to perform physical therapy interventions and related duties as assigned by a registered physical therapist. As a PTA, you will work under the supervision of a physical therapist utilizing prescribed activities to help patients recover physical function and strength lost through disease, injury or other causes, and to relieve pain and promote healing. Your patient may be a small child born with physical disabilities or an athlete with a shoulder injury, an older person with limited function because of arthritis or a teenager immobilized by an accident. - From the OCC program description website

Web Sites

National Association for Sport and Physical Education (NASPE) Career Page Some full text availableopenURL

SHAPE America's "Field of Study" page provides an overview of various careers including the following:

  • athletic training
  • coaching
  • dance
  • exercise science
  • health education
  • physical education
  • recreation/leisure
  • sport management

NDA
US National Dance Alliance
Syracuse Chargers RFC openURL Resource contains images
The Syracuse Chargers is a local rugby team that competes in the Empire Rugby Football Union.  In recent years, they were the 2011 Runner Up in the USA Rugby DIII National Championship and were a 2012 Elite 8 USA Rugby DIII National Championship Series team. Want to play?  Find out more here!
Ultimate Frisbee
Syracuse Ultimate Frisbee - Soccer+Football= Ultimate Frisbee
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert O'Boyle

Robert O'Boyle
Adjunct Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: