All Items by Source

Biographical Information

Biographical Dictionary of Scientists - Physicists
Print Location: REF QC15.B56 1984
Brief, easy to read entries, Glosaary of terms, Index by keyword within the field of Physics.

Books

Principles of Physics
Print Location: QC7.P75 2016
Brief entries provide an introduction to the fundamentals of physics.
Seven Brief Lessons on Physics
Print Location: QC24.5.R68513 2016
An introduction to modern physics by a founder of the loop quantum gravity theory shares seven succinct lessons on topics ranging from general relativity and quantum mechanics to elementary particles and black holes.

Database

AccessScience Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge offering links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations covering all major scientific disciplines. Also includes specially designed curriculum maps for teachers, and other online features.
 
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
CQ Researcher provides access to in-depth, balanced, analytical reporting on current and controversial topics. Each covered topic features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens, numerous graphs and sidebar articles, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts. Coverage: 1991-present.
Salem Press - Science Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned scientific content both in traditional, printed form and online.

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Physics
Print Location: REF QC5.C56 2009
Concise definitions of key terms and concepts. This 6th edition includes expanded coverage of applied physics, statistical distributions, polymers and nanoscience. Also includes biographical entries, chronology and more.

Encyclopedias

Instruments of Science: An Historical Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF Q184.5.I57 1998
327 entries cover scientifc instruments from the beginnings of science. Entries explain how a device works, how it is used, and who developed it. Illustrated.
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Print Location: REF Q121 .M3 2012 Resource contains images
This 20 volume set is a major revision and update, covering a bread span of topics, richly illustrated.
 
Van Nostrands Scientific Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF Q121 .V3 2008 Some full text available
The new, three-volume Tenth Edition contains articles contributed by industry experts and scholars worldwide. It comprises more than 10,000 entries and features hundreds of completely rewritten and re-referenced articles, as well as 2,500 completely new entries covering emerging technologies affecting genetics, global warming, communications, informatics, nanotechnology, and more

Journals/Magazines

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. There are millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Applied Science and Technology Source Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Providing content from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers guides, directories, conference proceedings and more, Applied Science and Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This collection contains more than 3.3 million articles, addressing such issues as global warming, climate change, alternative energy, environmental policy, going green, recycling, soil, plants, agronomy and much more.
JSTOR Some full text available Resource contains images
JSTOR provides unique access to fulltext backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles. 
Science Journals at Coulter Library Restricted Resource
A listing of science journals available online and/or in Coulter Library's Periodicals department.

Need Help?

Ask-A-Librarian Some full text availableopenURL
Coulter Library offers many ways for you to contact a librarian:

Visit the library in person, call us 315-498-2334, email  us a question or chat live in real time. Response time for email questions is usually within 2 business days.

If you use the AskUs 24/7 chat reference service, you will be able to chat live with a librarian. AskUs 24/7 is a cooperative service monitored by librarians from many states and several international libraries. You may not be chatting with an OCC librarian or even a librarian from Central New York.
Interlibrary Loan
Books that are not owned by Coulter Library, indivudal articles that are not contained as full text entries in the Library's online database subscriptions, and some media items may be able to be borrowed from other owning libraries. You must create an Illiad account online in order to request items.  Some restrictions apply. Also use Worldcat.org to search beyond the OCC collections.
Research Help Some full text availableopenURL
This Coulter Library web page provides tips for how to start your research, evaluating resources, and format guides for citing your sources. Also find tutorials for many of the library databases and services.
Research Starters
Research Starters, designed to simplify the research experience, offer short, citable summaries and authoritative overviews of more than 64,000 of the most popular topics available through EBSCO Discovery Service.

Drawn from sources such as Salem Press, Encyclopedia Britannica, and American National Biography, more than 62,000 of these 500- to 1,500-word summaries are accessible, offering an authoritative overview of a chosen subject, as well as links to other research starter summaries, or peer reviewed research where they can delve deeper into a topic.

To get started, enter your search term into the Multi-Search box to see if your topic has a Research Starter entry.

Newspapers

InfoTrac Newstand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
With this full-text newspaper resource, find articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Includes indexing for the Syracuse Post Standard but not the full text articles. If you have an Onondaga County Public Library card, you can access the Syracuse Newspapers 1986-present via the Newsbank Database.
 

OCC Campus Resources

OCC Learning Center openURL
Help with writing when you need it, where you want it, FREE. The OCC Learning Center offers tutoring in all subject areas.  Services specific to writing and English are as follows:

1. One-on-one tutoring, usually for an hour a week.

2. NightWriter - This service combines technology with evening hours to provide nightime help with writing through WCOnline.  Students have the option of chatting with a tutor live or uploading a paper for offline comments Sunday through Thursday evenings, 9-11 PM. Tutors also are available to read and comment on written assignments on those evenings 11 PM to midnight.  Log in to WCOnline to learn more.  

Learning Center Phone: 315-498-2103.  Located at G202.
OCC's Weather Website Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Created by OCC Professor Martin Martino, the site provides current and historical data asa well as forecasts from OCC's weather station and many other weather websites around the world. It includes information on severe weather, climate prediction and other pertinent topics.

Statistical Data

Data.gov
Find data, tools and resources to conduct research and more.

Videos

Academic Video Online (VAST) Restricted Resource Resource contains video
VAST is a collection of almost 20,000 streaming videos. It includes content in the following discipline areas: art, architecture, business, counseling, criminal justice, economics, education, history, humanities, law, nursing, philosophy, politics, science, languages, and more.
Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This collection includes thousands of online films on a wide variety of topics including business, science, health, history and more. Film lengths range from one or 2 minutes to 2 hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing. Films are linkable.
Kanopy Streaming Service Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" solution for college campuses offering over 26,000 films -- documentaries, feature films and training videos -- from thousands of producers with numerous new releases launched daily.
TED Talks openURL Resource contains video Resource contains audio
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. TED is one useful source to turn to when looking for topics and ideas for research papers.

Web Sites

American Chemical Society Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Pages for professionals, educators and students of all levels, including science updates, Cool Science,
an interactive periodic table.
GPO MetaLib - U.S. Government Printing Office Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
A federated search service from the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO). GPO MetaLib simultaneously searches more than 50 federal government publication catalogs, federal library catalogs, and specialized indexes.
National Science Foundation Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Created "to promote the progress of science," this independent federal agency features discoveries, research, funding guidelines, publications. Its news archives date back to 1995. The National Science Foundation's public investment in science, engineering, education and technology helps to create knowledge and sustain prosperity. Read here about the Internet, microbursts, Web browsers, extrasolar planets, and more. Includes Physics Discoveries
Science.gov Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, covering a broad range of topics. Includes research and development reports.
Union of Concerned Scientists Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The Union of Concerned Scientists puts rigorous, independent science to work to solve our planet's most pressing problems. Joining with citizens across the country, they combine technical analysis and effective advocacy to create innovative, practical solutions for a healthy, safe, and sustainable future. This site offers links to other important environmental information.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: