All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

A to Z the World Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This database provides reliable, up-to-date facts and information on different countries in many different categories. It is intended for students, researchers, educators, travelers, and logistics and international trade professionals. It includes country profiles as well as digital reference information, maps, books, and atlases.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Britannica Academic Some full text available
Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use Encyclopedia Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Statistical Abstract of the United States Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Books and Ebooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford's Very Short Introductions Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

Oxford Press' "Very Short Introductions" database offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.


Reference and Research

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3).

Websites

Ask-A-Librarian Some full text availableopenURL
​Coulter Library offers many ways for you to contact a librarian:

Visit the library in person, call us 315-498-2334, email us a question or chat live in real time. Response time for email questions is usually within 2 business days.

If you use the AskUs 24/7 chat reference service, you will be able to chat live with a librarian. AskUs 24/7 is a cooperative service monitored by librarians from many states and several international libraries. You may not be chatting with an OCC librarian or even a librarian from Central New York.
Census Bureau Statistics Some full text availableopenURL
Census Bureau statistics are organized by themes, or topics, and are available for business, the economy, education, employment, living conditions, health, housing, income, poverty, and other topics.
CIA World Factbook Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Published annually by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), this is a handy reference work for basic statistical data on the countries of the world. Includes maps, and a resource called Flags of the World.
Interlibrary Loan
Books that are not owned by Coulter Library, indivudal articles that are not contained as full text entries in the Library's online database subscriptions, and some media items may be able to be borrowed from other owning libraries. You must create an Illiad account online in order to request items.  Some restrictions apply. Also use Worldcat.org to search beyond the OCC collections.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Timur Saka

Timur Saka
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: