All Items by Source

Books and Ebooks

Oxford Companion to the Photograph, The
Print Location: REF TR9 .O94 2005 Resource contains images
In addition to a wide range of technical information, this book encapsulates in concise and readily accessible form the mass of recent scholarship on photography as a social and artistic practice, organized both thematically and geographically. There are over 800 bigraphical entries, both on photographers and on other individuals who have significantly influenced photographic culture from the early 19th century to the present. The book's scope is worldwide.
Photography Book, The
Print Location: REF TR139 .P49 1997 Resource contains images
Examines 500 photographs that represent the progress of photography from a practical means of documentation to an art form. Images of famous events and people, landscapes, historic moments, photojournalism, portraits, sports, wildlife, fashion and the every day are discussed in detail.

Reference and Research

Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Photography, The
Print Location: REF TR9 .T53 2015 Resource contains images
Extensive  and illustrated compilation by an international panel of experts of the history, art and science of photography.

Audio/Visual

Getty images openURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Offers high resolution royalty-free images, editorial stock photos, vector art, video footage clips.

Websites

George Eastman House Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
This international museum of photography and film houses outstanding archives in the home of George Eastman, the father of modern photography and the inventor of motion picture film. Some of the collections may be viewed online.
Library of Congress: American Memory Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
New York City's Department of Records Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
New York City's Department of Records has created a photo database containing 870,000 historic photos of NYC going back to the mid-1800s.
New York Institute of Photography Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Practical and helpful articles and tips on photographic technique are offered from this well established photography school.
NPPA The Voice of Visual Journalists Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Founded in 1946, the National Press Photographers Association is dedicated to the accuracy and integrity of visual journalism in all news media. It supports students and professionals in advocacy of journalists' rights, a job bank, contests, seminars, and more.
The Getty Research Institute Some full text available Resource contains images
The Photo Archive's two million photographs provide supplementary and original pictorial research for the study of fine arts from antiquity to the modern period.
University of Arizona - Center for Creative Photography Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
A research center dedicated to photography as an art form and cultural record. Its extensive collection primarily archives works by 20th century North American photographers.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Timur Saka

Timur Saka
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: