About using the creative work of others:
Per Section 107 of the federal Copyright Law (Title 17), using the work of others for research, study, and classroom activities related to a specific course (including online courses) is allowed. However, public display of the work of others, including making it available online, is not necessarily covered by fair use. The media sources listed below contain large portions of work that is either in the public domain (and can thus be freely used by the public), or has been cleared for certain uses by the creators of the works. 
All Items by Source

Audio/Visual

Flickr Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video
Flickr is an image and video hosting website, with billions of images available for use. Photos and videos can be accessed from Flickr without an account, but an account is needed to upload content onto the website. Most images can be used freely, but some contain copyright restrictions. You can limit by copyright status using the tab at the top left (just under the color bar); choose "no known restrictions".
Google Images Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Google Images allows users to search the Internet for image content. The keywords for the image search are based on the context of the page where the image is found. Not all images found using Google can be freely used; to find those that can, after searching click on "Tools" (under the main search box, at the far right) and then on "Usage Rights" to limit images to those which have been labeled for reuse.
Internet Archive Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains video
The Internet Archive offers a huge selection of video to download or stream in multiple formats across a range of genres, including advertising, features, old TV shows, and videos made by individuals. NOTE: Clips are of mixed copyright status. They can be used for class projects, but be sure to check the copyright status of the item before making it available to the public.
NARA National Archives Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains video
The U.S. National Archive has a number of YouTube channels containing historic videos for the public's use.
Public Domain Videos - Feature Films in the Public Domain Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains video
This website provides links to films hosted by the Internet Archive (archive.org) and the Wikimedia Foundation (wikimedia.org). All films are in the public domain; either copyright never existed (i.e., very old movies), copyright was not renewed correctly, or copyright has simply expired in the work. This means the films can be freely used, but does not necessarily mean they can be changed, sold, or altered in any way.

Websites

Wikimedia Commons Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Wikimedia Commons is a database of almost 30 million freely usable media files. Anyone can contribute to Wikimedia Commons. Almost all content hosted on Wikimedia Commons may be freely reused, subject to certain restrictions; check the image description page (this can be seen by clicking on the image) to see under which license it falls.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Angela Weiler

Angela Weiler
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943