All Items by Source

Associations

Nursing and Allied Health Collection
Collection of nearly 400 journal titles with articles covering all aspects of the nursing profession from direct patient care to health care administration.

Biographical Information

American Nursing
Print Location: REF RT34.A44 1988
Biographical entries for more than 150 American and international nurses from 1840-1940. Includes index by Area of Special Interest or Accomplishment.

Books

Fast Facts for the Student Nurse: Nursing Student Success in a Nutshell
Print Location: RT71 .S73 2012
Succinctly covers classroom and clinical issues, how to prepare for the NCLEX, and success following graduation.
Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing
Print Location: REF RT31 .S66 1999
An encyclopedia covering the history of nursing, spanning topics from abortion to World War II. Includes Timeline of Landmarks in Nursing.
TEAS V Study Guide 2016: TEAS Test Prep and Practice Questions for the TEAS Version V Exam
Print Location: LB2353.7 .T43 T427 2015; Book Reserves - 2nd Floor
Practice questions for all concepts and tips from TEAS experts.

Database

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
CQ Researcher provides access to in-depth, balanced, analytical reporting on current and controversial topics. Each covered topic features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens, numerous graphs and sidebar articles, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts. Coverage: 1991-present.
Learning Express Library
This online resource includes interactive exam preparation and ebooks for college entrance and occupational exams, practice study skills, and much more. Includes Firefighter Pactice Tests 1 and 2, the Advantage of EMT Certification for Firefighters, NCLEX, Nursing school entrance exam, Nursing Assistant/Aide, and Spanish/English Terms for Nurses. An Onondaga County Public Library (OCPL) card is required for access. With your OCPL library card you can create an individual Learning Express account, select and save practice exams and ebooks.
 

Dictionaries

Melloni's Illustrated Dictionary of the Musculoskeletal System
Print Location: REF QM100.M44 1998
Covers over 4600 terms. Includes tables of all the musciles and bones of the human body.

Encyclopedias

Atlas of Human Anatomy
Print Location: REFQM25.N461997
More than 500 large color plates and labeled illustrations
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Ebooks

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
ebrary is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference ebooks for multidisciplinary research.
Nursing: The Ultimate Study Guide Restricted Resource Some full text available
A single resource containing the core information of the standard nursing curriculum courses: medical/surgical, fundamentals, maternal/child, pediatrics, psychiatric/mental.This study guide highlights material likely to be on the NCLEX-RN exam.

Handbooks & Guides

DSM V - Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
Print Location: REF RC455.2.C4 D54
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is published by the American Psychiatric Association. It provides the legally-accepted, standard definitions for mental disorders that are used by healthcare professionals in the United States.

Journals/Magazines

Alt Health Watch Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
CINAHL Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides citations and full-text articles related to nursing and allied health. Coverage: 1982-present, abstracts since 1986. Updated monthly. Tutorial: Video, PowerPoint
Gender Studies Collection
Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Health Reference Center Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's Health Reference Center.
New England Journal of Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Peer-reviewed original articles for those interested in medical practice. Sections include Images in Clinical Medicine, Review Articles, Editorials, Correspondence, and Case Records of the the Massachusetts General Hospital. The online version of this journal includes full text access from 1993 to the present and citation/abstract access for the 1975-1992.
Nursing Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Coulter Library subscribes to the digital version of Nursing. This ejournal provides scholarly articles for practitioners in the field of nursing.
Nursing & Allied Health Journals at Coulter Library
A listing of nursing and allied health journals available digitally and in print format through Coulter Library.
PubMed Central Some full text availableopenURL
The official repository for all federally-funded medical research accepted for publication (as mandated by the National Institute of Health's Grants Policy.)

Need Help?

Ask-A-Librarian Some full text availableopenURL
Coulter Library offers many ways for you to contact a librarian:

Visit the library in person, call us 315-498-2334, email  us a question or chat live in real time. Response time for email questions is usually within 2 business days.

If you use the AskUs 24/7 chat reference service, you will be able to chat live with a librarian. AskUs 24/7 is a cooperative service monitored by librarians from many states and several international libraries. You may not be chatting with an OCC librarian or even a librarian from Central New York.
Interlibrary Loan
Books that are not owned by Coulter Library, indivudal articles that are not contained as full text entries in the Library's online database subscriptions, and some media items may be able to be borrowed from other owning libraries. You must create an Illiad account online in order to request items.  Some restrictions apply. Also use Worldcat.org to search beyond the OCC collections.
Research Help Some full text availableopenURL
This Coulter Library web page provides tips for how to start your research, evaluating resources, and format guides for citing your sources. Also find tutorials for many of the library databases and services.
Research Starters
Research Starters, designed to simplify the research experience, offer short, citable summaries and authoritative overviews of more than 64,000 of the most popular topics available through EBSCO Discovery Service.

Drawn from sources such as Salem Press, Encyclopedia Britannica, and American National Biography, more than 62,000 of these 500- to 1,500-word summaries are accessible, offering an authoritative overview of a chosen subject, as well as links to other research starter summaries, or peer reviewed research where they can delve deeper into a topic.

To get started, enter your search term into the Multi-Search box to see if your topic has a Research Starter entry.

OCC Campus Resources

OCC Career and Applied Learning Center [CAL]

The Center offers workshops on resumé writing, writing cover letters, interviewing techniques, and how to conduct a job search. Upcoming Events.

For those students and alumni seeking employment, there is a list of local job openings available on this site. The listing includes internships, part-time, full-time, temporary and permanent jobs. This list is updated regularly so check back often.

CAL is located in the Coulter Building, Room 110. Contact (315) 498-2585
OCC Learning Center openURL
Help with writing when you need it, where you want it, FREE. The OCC Learning Center offers tutoring in all subject areas.  Services specific to writing and English are as follows:

1. One-on-one tutoring, usually for an hour a week.

2. NightWriter - This service combines technology with evening hours to provide nightime help with writing through WCOnline.  Students have the option of chatting with a tutor live or uploading a paper for offline comments Sunday through Thursday evenings, 9-11 PM. Tutors also are available to read and comment on written assignments on those evenings 11 PM to midnight.  Log in to WCOnline to learn more.  

Learning Center Phone: 315-498-2103.  Located at G202.
OCC Nursing Program A.A.S. Department Website Some full text availableopenURL
Information for prospective nursing students.
117 Ferrante Hall Onondaga Community College 4585 West Seneca Turnpike Syracuse, NY 13215 (315) 498-2360

Videos

Academic Video Online (VAST) Restricted Resource Resource contains video
VAST is a collection of almost 20,000 streaming videos. It includes content in the following discipline areas: art, architecture, business, counseling, criminal justice, economics, education, history, humanities, law, nursing, philosophy, politics, science, languages, and more.
Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This collection includes thousands of online films on a wide variety of topics including business, science, health, history and more. Film lengths range from one or 2 minutes to 2 hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing. Films are linkable.

Web Sites

100 really REALLY Useful Web Sites for Nurses Some full text availableopenURL
A directory of web sites for nurses and nursing students relating to news, reference, education, care, organizations and other pertinent areas of the field.
American Red Cross, Nursing Students--Helping Where It Counts Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
For more than 50 years nursing students have been volunteering with the Red Cross in delivering critical community services. Student nurse volunteers have opportunities to gain clinical, educational and leadership experience while helping prepare for, prevent or respond to emergencies.
BestNursingDegree.com Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
A comprehensive site for prospective and current nurses, providing career options, degree programs and school listings, including online degrees. Interviews with nursing professionals offer perspectives into various areas of the field.
Merck Manual Online Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, the Merck Manual is a widely-used, comprehensive medical resource for professionals and consumers.  Continuing its mission to provide the best, current medical information to a wide array of users, the entire manual is now available online.  Click here and then choose either the professional or consumer site, depending upon the type of information you need.
Nursing on the Net Some full text availableopenURL
A comprehensive compilation of websites for nursing professionals by the National Network of Libraries of Medicine. Pertinent areas include Allied Health Resources, Alternative Medicine, Continuing Education, Drug Information, Health News, and others. 
Nursing.org
Provides information to help prospective nurses find, enroll and finance their education, as well as providing a forum to support current nurses with their day-to-day activities and future aspirations. Includes an in-depth guide to 14 different nursing career paths. Each career resource has been reviewed by leaders in the field and builds on data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the American Nurses Association, and organizations within the specialization.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Reserves by Nursing Course
Return to the Subject Guide listing: