All Items by Source

Audio Files

Music Online Listening Collection (Alexander St. Press) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio
Music Online Listening Collection contains music audio files from genre specific databases. These databases contain classical, jazz, and global musical selections.

Biographical Information

Stephen Foster, America's Troubador
Print Location: ML410 .F78.H6 1954
Stephen Collins Foster was born in 1826 and died in 1864.  He was one of America's most beloved songwriters during the 1850's.  Although he was not professionally trained; he was gifted from early childhood.  Some of his most famous songs were "Beautiful Dreamer", "Jeanie with the Light Brown Hair", "Swanee River"," Old Folks at Home", "Oh! Susanna". " Oh! Susanna" became the song of the gold rush miners in California.  He was a poor business man and sold his works for next to nothing.  He died in NYC,  impoverished.

Database

Library of Congress- Music Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio
The Library of Congress has excellent resources encompassing many areas of American music, in many different genres. Among these are: historical sheet music from 1870-1885; Hispanic music and culture; African American music; indigenous Native American music and recordings; folk recordings; and an illustrated guide to the Library of Congress musical instrument collection. The sites are works in progress, as more materials are discovered, catalogued and put online.

Journals/Magazines

Fine Arts and Music Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
This collection provides students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Humanities Source Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
As the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing - for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more, Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities.

Sheet Music

8notes.com Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains audio
The main focus of this site is sheet music, but they also  offer a wide range of resources for musicians, including tuners and chord charts. Currently around 90% of the site is free (supported by advertising).
Musopen Some full text availableopenURL
Musopen (www.musopen.org) is a non-profit organization focused on improving access and exposure to music by creating free resources and educational materials. They provide recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions. Their mission is "to set music free".
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Angela Weiler

Angela Weiler
Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: