All Items by Source

Database

AccessScience Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge offering links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations covering all major scientific disciplines. Also includes specially designed curriculum maps for teachers, and other online features.
 
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
CQ Researcher provides access to in-depth, balanced, analytical reporting on current and controversial topics. Each covered topic features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens, numerous graphs and sidebar articles, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts. Coverage: 1991-present.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Opposing Viewpoints covers controversial social issues such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, endangered species, and terrorism. This database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.

Journals/Magazines

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. There are millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Alt Health Watch Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
CINAHL Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides citations and full-text articles related to nursing and allied health. Coverage: 1982-present, abstracts since 1986. Updated monthly. Tutorial: Video, PowerPoint
Health Reference Center Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's Health Reference Center.
New England Journal of Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Peer-reviewed original articles for those interested in medical practice. Sections include Images in Clinical Medicine, Review Articles, Editorials, Correspondence, and Case Records of the the Massachusetts General Hospital. The online version of this journal includes full text access from 1993 to the present and citation/abstract access for the 1975-1992.
PubMed Central Some full text availableopenURL
The official repository for all federally-funded medical research accepted for publication (as mandated by the National Institute of Health's Grants Policy.)

Need Help?

Ask-A-Librarian Some full text availableopenURL
Coulter Library offers many ways for you to contact a librarian:

Visit the library in person, call us 315-498-2334, email  us a question or chat live in real time. Response time for email questions is usually within 2 business days.

If you use the AskUs 24/7 chat reference service, you will be able to chat live with a librarian. AskUs 24/7 is a cooperative service monitored by librarians from many states and several international libraries. You may not be chatting with an OCC librarian or even a librarian from Central New York.
Interlibrary Loan
Books that are not owned by Coulter Library, indivudal articles that are not contained as full text entries in the Library's online database subscriptions, and some media items may be able to be borrowed from other owning libraries. You must create an Illiad account online in order to request items.  Some restrictions apply. Also use Worldcat.org to search beyond the OCC collections.
Need Research Help?
Various research resources are available when you click this link, such as how to begin to research a paper, and how to evaluate and cite resources.
Research Help Some full text availableopenURL
This Coulter Library web page provides tips for how to start your research, evaluating resources, and format guides for citing your sources. Also find tutorials for many of the library databases and services.
Research Starters
Research Starters, designed to simplify the research experience, offer short, citable summaries and authoritative overviews of more than 64,000 of the most popular topics available through EBSCO Discovery Service.

Drawn from sources such as Salem Press, Encyclopedia Britannica, and American National Biography, more than 62,000 of these 500- to 1,500-word summaries are accessible, offering an authoritative overview of a chosen subject, as well as links to other research starter summaries, or peer reviewed research where they can delve deeper into a topic.

To get started, enter your search term into the Multi-Search box to see if your topic has a Research Starter entry.

Videos

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This collection includes thousands of online films on a wide variety of topics including business, science, health, history and more. Film lengths range from one or 2 minutes to 2 hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing. Films are linkable.
Kanopy Streaming Service Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" solution for college campuses offering over 26,000 films -- documentaries, feature films and training videos -- from thousands of producers with numerous new releases launched daily.

Web Sites

Merck Manual Online Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, the Merck Manual is a widely-used, comprehensive medical resource for professionals and consumers.  Continuing its mission to provide the best, current medical information to a wide array of users, the entire manual is now available online.  Click here and then choose either the professional or consumer site, depending upon the type of information you need.
National Institutes of Health Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency, making important discoveries that improve health and save lives. Up-to-date research and related health information and statistics are provided on a wide variety of consumer health topics including diabetes, heart disease, exercise, cancer, asthma, mental health, depression, high blood pressure, obesity, weight loss, and many other health-related topics.

Science.gov Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, covering a broad range of topics. Includes research and development reports.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: