All Items by Source

Database

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
CQ Researcher provides access to in-depth, balanced, analytical reporting on current and controversial topics. Each covered topic features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens, numerous graphs and sidebar articles, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts. Coverage: 1991-present.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Opposing Viewpoints covers controversial social issues such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, endangered species, and terrorism. This database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.

Encyclopedias

Britannica Academic Some full text available
Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use Encyclopedia Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Scholastic GO Restricted Resource
Although geared primarily for high school students, this collection of encyclopedias and reference titles provide useful background information on many topics that may be of interest to college students as well. These encyclopedias may be a good starting place if you need a basic overview of a topic with which you are unfamiliar.
Lands and Peoples includes articles on countries, cultures and current events. It also includes an atlas and almanacs.
The New Book of Popular Science includes articles in the areas of science, technology and medicine.
Encyclopedia Americana has articles with links to further readings, a bibliography, and select related web page links.

 

Ebooks

Oxford's Very Short Introductions Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

Oxford Press' "Very Short Introductions" database offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.


Journals/Magazines

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. There are millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Flipster Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Easily browse our collection of digital magazines from any computer, laptop, tablet or phone. Currently subscribe to Flipster's Top Ten best sellers, including: Rolling Stone, People, Science News and more..
General OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
General OneFile includes more than 8,000 magazine and journal titles (most in full text with no embargo) and millions of articles. This database serves a wide audience of readers and is a useful resource to find general background on a topic. To retrieve more peer-reviewed articles, use the Academic Onefile database.

Need Help?

Ask-A-Librarian Some full text availableopenURL
Coulter Library offers many ways for you to contact a librarian:

Visit the library in person, call us 315-498-2334, email  us a question or chat live in real time. Response time for email questions is usually within 2 business days.

If you use the AskUs 24/7 chat reference service, you will be able to chat live with a librarian. AskUs 24/7 is a cooperative service monitored by librarians from many states and several international libraries. You may not be chatting with an OCC librarian or even a librarian from Central New York.
Interlibrary Loan
Books that are not owned by Coulter Library, indivudal articles that are not contained as full text entries in the Library's online database subscriptions, and some media items may be able to be borrowed from other owning libraries. You must create an Illiad account online in order to request items.  Some restrictions apply. Also use Worldcat.org to search beyond the OCC collections.
Research Help Some full text availableopenURL
This Coulter Library web page provides tips for how to start your research, evaluating resources, and format guides for citing your sources. Also find tutorials for many of the library databases and services.
Research Starters
Research Starters, designed to simplify the research experience, offer short, citable summaries and authoritative overviews of more than 64,000 of the most popular topics available through EBSCO Discovery Service.

Drawn from sources such as Salem Press, Encyclopedia Britannica, and American National Biography, more than 62,000 of these 500- to 1,500-word summaries are accessible, offering an authoritative overview of a chosen subject, as well as links to other research starter summaries, or peer reviewed research where they can delve deeper into a topic.

To get started, enter your search term into the Multi-Search box to see if your topic has a Research Starter entry.

Videos

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This collection includes thousands of online films on a wide variety of topics including business, science, health, history and more. Film lengths range from one or 2 minutes to 2 hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing. Films are linkable.
Kanopy Streaming Service Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" solution for college campuses offering over 26,000 films -- documentaries, feature films and training videos -- from thousands of producers with numerous new releases launched daily.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943