General
A select list of Coulter's resources, covering a broad range of topics and formats.
All Items by Source

Database

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Opposing Viewpoints covers controversial social issues such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, endangered species, and terrorism. This database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3).

Encyclopedias

Britannica Academic Some full text available
Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use Encyclopedia Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Ebooks

eBooks on EBSCOhost Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
The SUNYConnect collection includes 1370 ebooks on a wide variety of topics.
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
ebrary is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference ebooks for multidisciplinary research.

Images

Getty images openURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Offers high resolution royalty-free images, editorial stock photos, vector art, video footage clips.

Indexes

ArticleFirst Restricted Resource
Contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of nearly 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Each record describes one article, news story, letter, or other item. (NOTE:  Provides primarily citations *only*.)
Readers' Guide Retrospective Coverage dates: 1890 - 1982 Restricted Resource
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
WorldCat
This database allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and see which libraries own a particular item. Content is updated daily.

Journals/Magazines

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. There are millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Flipster Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Easily browse our collection of digital magazines from any computer, laptop, tablet or phone. Currently subscribe to Flipster's Top Ten best sellers, including: Rolling Stone, People, Science News and more..
General OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
General OneFile includes more than 8,000 magazine and journal titles (most in full text with no embargo) and millions of articles. This database serves a wide audience of readers and is a useful resource to find general background on a topic. To retrieve more peer-reviewed articles, use the Academic Onefile database.
MasterFILE Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This database features 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews; nearly 500 full text reference books (including the World Almanac & Book of Facts), full text from 84,074 biographies, 86,135 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary (4th Edition), and an image collection of 188,323 photos, maps and flags. MasterFILE Premier offers PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications.

Need Help?

Ask-A-Librarian Some full text availableopenURL
Coulter Library offers many ways for you to contact a librarian:

Visit the library in person, call us 315-498-2334, email  us a question or chat live in real time. Response time for email questions is usually within 2 business days.

If you use the AskUs 24/7 chat reference service, you will be able to chat live with a librarian. AskUs 24/7 is a cooperative service monitored by librarians from many states and several international libraries. You may not be chatting with an OCC librarian or even a librarian from Central New York.
Need Research Help?
Various research resources are available when you click this link, such as how to begin to research a paper, and how to evaluate and cite resources.
Research Help Some full text availableopenURL
This Coulter Library web page provides tips for how to start your research, evaluating resources, and format guides for citing your sources. Also find tutorials for many of the library databases and services.

Newspapers

InfoTrac Newstand Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
With this full-text newspaper resource, find articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Includes indexing for the Syracuse Post Standard but not the full text articles. If you have an Onondaga County Public Library card, you can access the Syracuse Newspapers 1986-present via the Newsbank Database.
 
New York Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
New York Newspapers provides access to full-text articles from the New York Times and other New York state newspapers. Full text articles are searchable from present date back to the late 1990s for most titles in this database.
New York Times Digital Microfilm Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
The New York Times on digital microfilm is available for the years 2008 to the present. (NOTE: There is a two month delay for additions to the database.) This resource is not searchable, but is browseable by date.
Newspaper Source Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources,videos & podcasts.  
Post-Standard (historical) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This database provides access to digital scans of the full-text pages of the Post-Standard and other Syracuse Newspapers dating back to 1857. The archive contains public records for the Central New York region:  obituaries, births, engagements, weddings, anniversaries, high school graduations, real estate transactions, court indictments, bankruptcies, liens, tax warrants, judgments; police blotters, restaurant inspections, and more. The full-page newspapers in this collection, which chronicle the last 180 years of Central New York history, are searchable by keyword and date.

Primary Sources

Artemis Primary Sources Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Artemis Primary Sources allows researchers to uncover primary source documents in the 19th Century U.S. Newspapers archive where they may not have thought to look, greatly enhancing their research experience. Artemis Primary Sources offers a seamless research environment.

Videos

Academic Video Online (VAST) Restricted Resource Resource contains video
VAST is a collection of almost 20,000 streaming videos. It includes content in the following discipline areas: art, architecture, business, counseling, criminal justice, economics, education, history, humanities, law, nursing, philosophy, politics, science, languages, and more.
Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This collection includes thousands of online films on a wide variety of topics including business, science, health, history and more. Film lengths range from one or 2 minutes to 2 hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing. Films are linkable.
Kanopy Streaming Service Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" solution for college campuses offering over 26,000 films -- documentaries, feature films and training videos -- from thousands of producers with numerous new releases launched daily.

Web Sites

Google Books openURL
Google Books aims to create a comprehensive, searcheable, virtual card catalog of all books in all languages. Books in the public domain may be viewed in entirely, and others with limited contents.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: