All Items by Source

Books

Half-Earth: our planet's fight for life
Print Location: QH75. W5355 2016
  "In order to stave off the mass extinction of species, including our own, we must move swiftly to preserve the biodiversity of our planet, says Edward O. Wilson in his most impassioned book to date. Half-Earth argues that the situation facing us is too large to be solved piecemeal and proposes a solution commensurate with the magnitude of the problem: dedicate fully half the surface of the Earth to nature."-Amazon

Journals/Magazines

Energy and Power Source Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Energy and Power Source is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the energy and power industries at all levels. Energy and Power Source offers cover-to-cover indexing from more than 1,000 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with energy industry-related issues. Hundreds of key energy-focused industry and market reports are also included. The database also offers tens of thousands of additional highly-relevant articles, benchmarks, and best practices, selected from a multitude of trade and industry publications. Designed for energy industry professionals and researchers of all types, Energy Power Source is the premier dedicated collection of energy and power industry-related content available today.
Environment Complete Restricted Resource
Environment Complete includes articles in areas of agriculture, ecology, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, and urban planning. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist,and Conservation Biology.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This collection contains more than 3.3 million articles, addressing such issues as global warming, climate change, alternative energy, environmental policy, going green, recycling, soil, plants, agronomy and much more.
Green File Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
GreenFILE offers well-researched articles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Web Sites

Discover Life Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
An interactive website for students, instructors, environmental educators, with integrated web tools to design projects for individual needs in all areas of ecology.
National Audubon Society Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
National Audubon Society's mission is to conserve and restore natural ecosystems, focusing on birds and other wildlife for the benefit of humanity and the earth's biodiversity. The Audubon Society combines science, education and policy expertise in efforts ranging from protection and restoration of local habitats to the implementation of policies that safeguard birds, other wildlife and resources in the U.S. and the Americas.
National Science Foundation Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Created "to promote the progress of science," this independent federal agency features discoveries, research, funding guidelines, publications. Its news archives date back to 1995. The National Science Foundation's public investment in science, engineering, education and technology helps to create knowledge and sustain prosperity. Read here about the Internet, microbursts, Web browsers, extrasolar planets, and more. Includes Physics Discoveries
NOAA - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) is a federal agency. This agency provides a multitude of data from daily weather forecasts, severe storm warnings, climate monitoring to fisheries management, coastal restoration and marine commerce including marine debris.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The EPA is charged with implementing environmental laws that have been passed by Congress. They write related regulations and set national standards that states and tribes enforce through their own regulations. They also enforce their regulations, and help companies understand the requirements. Through this Web site, the EPA informs the public about their activities.
Union of Concerned Scientists Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The Union of Concerned Scientists puts rigorous, independent science to work to solve our planet's most pressing problems. Joining with citizens across the country, they combine technical analysis and effective advocacy to create innovative, practical solutions for a healthy, safe, and sustainable future. This site offers links to other important environmental information.
Cornell Ornithology Lab Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio

The Cornell Ornithology Lab is a local resource of the world’s bird songs and recordings. This site also includes the Bioacoustics Research Program, which records and analyzes the sounds of wildlife around the globe.


Defenders of Wildlife Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Defenders of Wildlife is dedicated to the protection of all native animals and plants in their natural communities.The group works with federal, state and local agencies to develop policies that will protect wildlife.
Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC ) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The NRDC is an environmental action group with 1.4 million members and online activists, and more than 350 lawyers, scientists and other professionals. Included on this site are issues such as Canadian tar sands, global warming, reviving the world's oceans, endangered wildlife and wild places, pollution, water quality, and sustainable communities.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Timur Saka

Timur Saka
Adjunct Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: