All Items by Source

Dictionaries

Dictionary of American Regional English
Print Location: REF PE2843 .D52 1985 Some full text available
A five volume compendium of words and phrases peculiar to certain parts of the country or social or ethnic groups.
Dictionary of Confusable Words
Print Location: REF PE1591 .D53 2000
English has quite a few words similar in meaning, spelling or pronunciation. This book simply and clearly distinguishes these easily confused words.
Merriam-Webster's Advanced Learner's English Dictionary
Print Location: REF PE1628 .M354 2008
Dedicated specifically to the needs of learners of English as a second language, this dictionary covers both American and British English. The entries reflect language that users are most likely to need and encounter in their daily lives, and it provides clear descriptions of idioms.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3).

Handbooks & Guides

Garner's Modern American Usage 3rd. ed.
Print Location: REF PE2827 .G37 2009 Some full text available
Authoritative reference book on grammar, usage and style of American English.
Rules for Writers 8th ed.
Print Location: REF PE1408 .H277 2016
This maual provides clear explanations for all aspects of academic writing, including research papers in MLA and APA styles. Covers the 2016 MLA documentation update.

It includes a practical section for "Multilingual Writers and ESL challenges."

 

Journals/Magazines

Artemis Literary Sources Restricted Resource Some full text available
Artemis Literary Sources brings together Gale’s premier literary databases - the Gale Virtual Reference Library, the Literature Resource Center, and Litfinder - in a new digital environment that enables researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
English Journals at Coulter Library Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Listing of English journals at Coulter Library.  Off-campus login required.
Humanities Source Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
As the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing - for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more, Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities.
Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio
The Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. It covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or combine criteria to create a customized search.
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
CQ Researcher provides access to in-depth, balanced, analytical reporting on current and controversial topics. Each covered topic features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens, numerous graphs and sidebar articles, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts. Coverage: 1991-present.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Opposing Viewpoints covers controversial social issues such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, endangered species, and terrorism. This database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
Salem Press - Literature Restricted Resource Some full text available
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned literary content both in traditional, printed form and online.

Need Help?

Need Research Help?
Various research resources are available when you click this link, such as how to begin to research a paper, and how to evaluate and cite resources.

OCC Campus Resources

OCC Learning Center openURL
Help with writing when you need it, where you want it, FREE. The OCC Learning Center offers tutoring in all subject areas.  Services specific to writing and English are as follows:

1. One-on-one tutoring, usually for an hour a week.

2. NightWriter - This service combines technology with evening hours to provide nightime help with writing through WCOnline.  Students have the option of chatting with a tutor live or uploading a paper for offline comments Sunday through Thursday evenings, 9-11 PM. Tutors also are available to read and comment on written assignments on those evenings 11 PM to midnight.  Log in to WCOnline to learn more.  

Learning Center Phone: 315-498-2103.  Located at G202.

Web Sites

Internet Public Library (ipl2) - Literary Criticism Some full text availableopenURL
The ipl2 Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period. The collection brings together hundreds of critical and biographical sites with annotations. It is international in scope, but emphasizes authors from North America, the British Isles, and the former British Empire. 

NOTE: Internet Public Library closed in 2015. However, the website may still be searched, but there are no updates past that date.  

Purdue OWL Some full text availableopenURL
The strength of this site is its massive number of handouts and research links. Some of the topics addressed by the handouts are tips for writing argumentive essays, literary term definitions, writing about poetry, MLA and APA formatting and style guide, and much more.
Complete Works of William Shakespeare Some full text availableopenURL
All plays and poetry by Williams Shakespeare in their entirety.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Wanda  Abrams

Wanda Abrams
Adjunct Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: