All Items by Source

Database

Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio

Business Insights provides in depth coverage of businesses, including company profiles, industry profiles and trends, products and brands, financial reports, company rankings, histories as well as full text periodical articles from business magazines and newspapers and trade journals. 


CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
CQ Researcher provides access to in-depth, balanced, analytical reporting on current and controversial topics. Each covered topic features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens, numerous graphs and sidebar articles, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts. Coverage: 1991-present.

Handbooks & Guides

Atlas of the American Economy:an illustrated guide to industries and trends
Print Location: REF HC103.A49
40 year coverage of select industries with facts, and easy to read graphs and charts illustrating core trends, revenue, employment, and share of the Grosss Domestic Product.
Watchdogs and Whistleblowers: a reference guide to consumer activism
Print Location: REF HC110.C63 W38
Alpabetical entries covering advocacy related organizations, leaders, actitivies and issues. Includes a timeline of U.S. consumer activism. 

Journals/Magazines

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. There are millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business Source Complete provides full text back to 1965 (or the first issue published for that journal) and searchable cited references back as far as 1998. Full text coverage is available in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
EconPapers Some full text available
Access to the largest collection of online Economics working papers and journal articles. The majority of the full text files are freely available, but some (typically journal articles) require that you or your organization subscribe to the service providing the full text file.
RePEc: Research Papers in Economics Some full text availableopenURL
"A...public-access database that promotes scholarly communication in economics and related disciplines. The database contains information on more than 585,000 items..."

Need Help?

Ask-A-Librarian Some full text availableopenURL
Coulter Library offers many ways for you to contact a librarian:

Visit the library in person, call us 315-498-2334, email  us a question or chat live in real time. Response time for email questions is usually within 2 business days.

If you use the AskUs 24/7 chat reference service, you will be able to chat live with a librarian. AskUs 24/7 is a cooperative service monitored by librarians from many states and several international libraries. You may not be chatting with an OCC librarian or even a librarian from Central New York.
Interlibrary Loan
Books that are not owned by Coulter Library, indivudal articles that are not contained as full text entries in the Library's online database subscriptions, and some media items may be able to be borrowed from other owning libraries. You must create an Illiad account online in order to request items.  Some restrictions apply. Also use Worldcat.org to search beyond the OCC collections.
Research Help Some full text availableopenURL
This Coulter Library web page provides tips for how to start your research, evaluating resources, and format guides for citing your sources. Also find tutorials for many of the library databases and services.
Research Starters
Research Starters, designed to simplify the research experience, offer short, citable summaries and authoritative overviews of more than 64,000 of the most popular topics available through EBSCO Discovery Service.

Drawn from sources such as Salem Press, Encyclopedia Britannica, and American National Biography, more than 62,000 of these 500- to 1,500-word summaries are accessible, offering an authoritative overview of a chosen subject, as well as links to other research starter summaries, or peer reviewed research where they can delve deeper into a topic.

To get started, enter your search term into the Multi-Search box to see if your topic has a Research Starter entry.

Statistical Data

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis Some full text availableopenURL
From the U.S. Department of Commerce, the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) provides up-to-date and accurate economic accounts data for the United States government, including gross domestic product (total and by industry) and a wide range of economic information on personal income, assets, and many other topics, often broken down by geographic area.

Videos

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This collection includes thousands of online films on a wide variety of topics including business, science, health, history and more. Film lengths range from one or 2 minutes to 2 hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing. Films are linkable.

Web Sites

American Economic Association Some full text availableopenURL
The American Economic Association is a professional association which encourages economic research, issues publications on economic subjects, and encourages freedom of economic discussion. The Association is non-partisan, and provides a gateway to many sources of economic data.
Business.gov Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
BusinessUSA uses technology to quickly connect small businesses and exporters to the services and information relevant to them, regardless of where the information is located or which agency's website, call center, or office they go to for help. It is a joint effort of the federal Departments of Commerce, Labor, Veterans Affairs, the Small Business Administration, and ten other federal government departments.
   
National Bureau of Economic Research Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains video Resource contains audio
National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research in a scientific manner, and without policy recommendations, among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
Return to the Subject Guide listing:
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943