All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. There are millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Education Digest
Education Digest journal covers the entire education field from pre-elementary to college levels for school libraries and administrators, superintendents, supervisors and principals.
Education Next Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A quarterly scholarly journal of the Hoover Institution that explores issues relating to education policy and K-12 education reform in the United States. It is published by the Hoover Institution Press within Stanford University.‚Äč
Education Source Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
As the complete source of education scholarship, Education Source covers all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education - as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (from Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's version of the ERIC database provides journal articles and reports on education topics. Coverage: 1966-present. Updated: monthly. 

Books and Ebooks

Early childhood education: An introduction to the profession
Print Location: LB1140.2 .H95 1975
National Association for the Education of Young Children Publication
It's ok to go up the slide
Print Location: HQ769 .S545333 2016
Shumaker takes on new hot-button issues with renegade rules such as: - Recess Is A Right - It's Ok Not To Kiss Grandma - Ban Homework in Elementary School

Reference and Research

Early Childhood Education: an International Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF LB1139.23 .E272 2007
This four volume reference work covers historical and contemporary issues and current research on early childhood development and education. While mainly focusing on the U.S., educational practices of representative nations in Europe, Asia, Africa and South America are presented.

Audio/Visual

Ed.flicks Resource contains video
Exchange training videos on demand.
Edutopia Resource contains video
Explore videos that showcase evidence-based learning practices in K-12 schools, and see our core strategies and key topics in action. Edutopia is established by George Lucas Educational Foundation. It offers a comprehensive website and an online community that increases knowledge, sharing, and adoption of what works in K-12 education.

Websites

Harvard Family Research Project Some full text availableopenURL
Conducts research and evaluates strategies in the areas of early childhood education, out-of-school programming and family and community support, toward the goal of promoting children's learning and development.
Head Start Some full text availableopenURL
"Head Start is a federal program that promotes the school readiness of children ages birth to five from low-income families by enhancing their cognitive, social and emotional development."
Literacy Center.Net Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The Early Childhood Education Network provides free, professionally designed education material online for preschool-age children. Exercises are presented in English, Spanish, French and German.
National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) openURL Resource contains images
The nation's largest organization of early childhood professionals "dedicated to improving the quality of early childhood education programs from birth through age eight."
 
National Institute for Early Education Research (NIEER) Some full text availableopenURL
Contains a wealth of information about preschool programs and early education policy, including full-text research reports, links to news events, and a listing of state requirements for early education.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Timur Saka

Timur Saka
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: