All Items by Source

Database

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Opposing Viewpoints covers controversial social issues such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, endangered species, and terrorism. This database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory Some full text available Resource contains images
With more than 300 entries, these two volumes provide a one-stop source for a comprehensive overview of communication theory, offering current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories. This is the first resource to summarize, in one place, the diversity of theory in the communication field.

Handbooks & Guides

21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook Some full text available
Containing some 100 chapters, this authoritative  2-volume set focuses  on the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student of communication should  master for effectiveness in the 21st Century. 

Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Communications & Mass Media Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
This collection provides information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
Communications and Journalism Journals at Coulter Library Restricted Resource
A listing of communications and journalism journals available digitally and in print format through Coulter Library.

Web Sites

American Communication Association (ACA) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The ACA is a not-for-profit virtual professional association with actual presence in the world of communication scholars and practitioners. ACA is committed to enabling the effective use of new and evolving communication technologies to facilitate instruction, research, and criticism; it offers a technologically-supportive venue for all who study the ways in which humans communicate.
Toastmasters International Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Toastmasters International is a non-profit educational organization that teaches public speaking and leadership skills through a worldwide network of meeting locations. Members improve their speaking and leadership skills by attending one of the 14,350 clubs in 122 countries that make up the global network of meeting locations. (There is a Toastmasters chapter on the OCC campus.)
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Wanda  Abrams

Wanda Abrams
Adjunct Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: