All Items by Source

Books

Design Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF NK 1370.B93 2004 (Second floor - Reference Dept) Some full text available Resource contains images

In this encyclopedia, design is considered in its concrete application to functional objects, thus crossing with craft, decorative arts, and industrial design, but distinguishing itself from fine art and theory. The result is 832 pages covering the last 130 years in the history of the design of furniture, lighting, fabrics, ceramics, glassware, metal ware, objects in a range of other materials, and mechanical, electrical, and electronic appliances, as well as automobiles and some inventions. There are separate entries for designers and craftspeople, design studios, consortium's and partnerships, noteworthy manufacturers, significant historical periods and styles, and materials. Entries, 3,600 in all, are self-contained and organized alphabetically, and include cross-references. Information is a mix of data gathered from a vast number of primary and secondary sources. With over 700 full-color illustrations, this publication is an invaluable, definitive compendium of the world of design over the last century and a half.


History of Art by H.W. Janson
Print Location: N5300.J3 2001 Some full text available
A survey and analysis of art from prehistoric times to post-modernism. A classic text for the student interested in gaining a foundational understanding of art.

Database

Art Journals at Coulter Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
A listing of art journals with peer-reviewed articles and resources available from Coulter Library's website.  You will need your OCC network ID to access off-campus.

Images

CAMIO Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.  Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.

Journals/Magazines

Fine Arts and Music Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
This collection provides students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Humanities Source Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
As the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing - for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more, Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities.

Web Sites

Art Career Project Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The Art Career Project a project put together to assist aspiring artists on their career path, lists 30 "must see" museums found in the United States.  
Art Galleries at Syracuse University Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The Art Galleries at Syracuse University are located in the Shaffer Art Building on SU's campus and are open to the public. An excellect resource for 20th century American art.  
Everson Museum of Art
The Everson Museum is a local icon. The building was designed by renowned architect I. M. Pei and houses an internationally acclaimed ceramics collection.  Located in downtown Syracuse at 401 Harrison St., this little museum is worth the trip.
The Louvre
The Louvre, located in France, is an international treasure.  It houses many famous works including the Mona Lisa.  Their website alone is an adventure into the history and presence of art around the world.  
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Angela Weiler

Angela Weiler
Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: