All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

BuildingGreen Suite Restricted Resource Some full text available
BuildingGreen Suite provides comprehensive, fully researched sustainable design strategies and green products reviews that are essential for anyone involved in the sustainable design field. It features comprehensive, practical information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building--from energy efficiency and recycled-content materials to land-use planning and indoor air quality. BG Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News, and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies. This wealth of information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEEDs credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources.

Books and Ebooks

African American Architects: A Biographical Dictionary 1865-1945
Print Location: REF NA 736 .A47 2004
This reference source contains 168 biographies of African American men and women architects of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, who have significantly contributed to the architectural heritage of the United States.

Reference and Research

Atlas of American Architecture: 2000 Years of Architecture, City Planning, Landscape Architecture and Civil Engineering
Print Location: REF NA705 .M35 2009 Resource contains images
Extensive history of American architecture, social spaces, and engineered environments from Pre-Columbian to neomodern times.
Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture
Print Location: REF.NA680. E495 2004 (Second Floor - Reference) Resource contains images
A reference source that covers a vast range of architectural styles, movements, and theories that were unique to the time period. The layout and organization of the encyclopedia is standard, with alphabetic entries combined with black-and-white illustrations and a block of color plates in each volume. Entries for architects include a selected bibliography but also a brief biography and list of selected works. 

Websites

American Institute of Architects Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Extensive resources for the architecture profession including news, career and education information, a Practicing Architecture section and more.
Chicago Athenaeum of Architecture and Design Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The Chicago Athenaeum is dedicated to advancing the value of good design in American and international architecture, industrial and product design, graphics, landscape architecture and urban planning. It presents awards annually for the most significant contributions in those fields, which are archived on the site.
 
Construction Industry Compliance Assistance Center Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Succinct yet comprehensive information about environmental rules for the construction industry, from the National Center for Manufacturing Sciences. Links to sites on green building, including deconstruction/recycling of building materials, stormwater management and more.
Great Buildings Collection Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Architecture Week's gateway site to world architecture throughout history. Featuring 1000 selected classics of world architecture, the site is searchable by building, architect, location and type. Provides timelines of buildings and architects, and 3-d models.
NYSERDA Green Building Services Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The New York State Energy and Research Development Authority works with individuals to support their efforts to make their buildings environmentally responsible. Provides information on tax credits, programs, funding opportunities.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Wanda  Abrams

Wanda Abrams
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: