All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

A to Z the World Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This database provides reliable, up-to-date facts and information on different countries in many different categories. It is intended for students, researchers, educators, travelers, and logistics and international trade professionals. It includes country profiles as well as digital reference information, maps, books, and atlases.
AccessScience Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge offering links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations covering all major scientific disciplines. Also includes specially designed curriculum maps for teachers, and other online features.
 
Journal of Anthropology Some full text available Resource contains images
This journal is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles in all areas of anthropology.
JSTOR Some full text available Resource contains images
JSTOR provides unique access to fulltext backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles. 

Reference and Research

Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Print Location: REF GN11 .E63 2006 (vols. 1-5) Some full text available Resource contains images
Thorough coverage is given to a wide range of topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, anthropological linguistics, and applied anthropology. More than 250 respected anthropologists and scholars have contributed over 1000 A-to-Z articles. The signed entries are written in accessible, non scholarly language, which makes the work suitable for undergraduate students and informed lay readers alike… This balanced and user-friendly resource will be a good starting point for basic anthropological research.

Websites

American Anthropological Association Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Current job openings, information about careers in anthropology, meeting announcements, journals, Internet links, etc.
Anthropological Index Online Some full text availableopenURL
An index to current anthropological periodicals in the Anthropology Library of the Centre for Anthropology at the British Museum. Use this index to locate references to journal articles by author's name, title, or keyword. Note: search results are not linked from this index; you will need to look up each publication to see if Coulter Library has the full-text or if you will need to request the article via the Interlibrary Loan service.
Anthropology Resources on the Internet Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Is a guide to anthropology and archaeology resources available on the Internet, including anthropology departments and journals around the world, with over 4000 links to check out.
Archaeological Institute of America Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The oldest and largest archaeological association in North America.
Becoming Human: Glossary Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
This glossary focuses on archaeology, cultural anthropology, and physical anthropology. Becoming Human brings together interactive multimedia, research and scholarship to promote greater understanding of the course of human evolution.
CAMIO Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.  Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Wanda  Abrams

Wanda Abrams
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: