All Items by Source

Associations

Daily life through American history in primary documents
Print Location: REF E161 .D35 2012
4 volume set with illustrations

Biographical Information

African American National Biography
Print Location: REF E185.96.A4466 2008
Multivolume set. Index by Birthplace and Realm of Renown.
American National Biography
Print Location: REF E176.A516 1999
Multivolume set with brief biographical information on famous deceased Americans. Indexes include Place of Birth in the United States, Place of Birth Outside the United States and Index by Occupation and Realms of Renown.
Supreme Court Justices: Illustrated Biographies 1789-2012
Print Location: REF KF8744.S86 2013
Biographical information about their lives and major opinions.

Database

Salem Press - History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned historical content both in traditional, printed form and online.  This resource includes access to The Reference Shelf:  an online collection of current titles of historical significance. Also includes Defining Documents and Milestone Documents in American History and World History.
U.S. History in Context Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio

U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of African American History 1896-Present
Print Location: REF E185.E5453

Food And Drink In American History
Print Location: Ref. TX 349 .F5716 2013 Some full text available
This three-volume encyclopedia on the history of American food and beverages serves as an ideal companion resource for social studies and American history courses, covering topics ranging from early American Indian foods to mandatory nutrition information at fast food restaurants.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Ebooks

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
ebrary is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference ebooks for multidisciplinary research.

Handbooks & Guides

Historical Statistics of the United States: earliest times to the present
Print Location: REF HA202 .H57 2006

Images

New York Heritage Digital Collections
A research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else who is interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State. The site provides free access to more than 170 distinct digital collections, totalling hundreds of thousands of items.
New York State Library Digital Collections
The Digital Collections include some historical materials from the 18th through the early 20th century in many subject areas, including the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, Native American materials, New York State laws and natural history. While books make up the core collection, Digital Collections also include primary source materials such as letters, diaries , rare manuscripts, maps, music scores and more.

Journals/Magazines

History Journals at Coulter Library
A listing of history journals available digitally and in print format through Coulter Library.
JSTOR Some full text available Resource contains images
JSTOR provides unique access to fulltext backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles. 

Need Help?

Need Research Help?
Various research resources are available when you click this link, such as how to begin to research a paper, and how to evaluate and cite resources.

Newspapers

19th Century U.S. Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
African American Newspapers enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Timeline and topic search covering issues, events, literature, inventions and more from the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, Roaring Twenties, Great Depression, World War II, Civil Rights Movement, Vietnam War, globalization and other eras.
Post-Standard (historical) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This database provides access to digital scans of the full-text pages of the Post-Standard and other Syracuse Newspapers dating back to 1857. The archive contains public records for the Central New York region:  obituaries, births, engagements, weddings, anniversaries, high school graduations, real estate transactions, court indictments, bankruptcies, liens, tax warrants, judgments; police blotters, restaurant inspections, and more. The full-page newspapers in this collection, which chronicle the last 180 years of Central New York history, are searchable by keyword and date.

Primary Sources

Artemis Primary Sources Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Artemis Primary Sources allows researchers to uncover primary source documents in the 19th Century U.S. Newspapers archive where they may not have thought to look, greatly enhancing their research experience. Artemis Primary Sources offers a seamless research environment.
Documenting the American South Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio
This database presents collections with primary documents about the American South in the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries, including: "First-person narratives of the American South, 1860-1920" includes diaries, autobiographies, memoirs, travel accounts and ex-slave narratives; "North American Slave Narratives"; " The Library of Southern Literature" makes available 100 titles in Southern literature; "The Church in the Southern Black Community, Beginnings to 1920"; "The Southern Homefront,1861-1865" documents "non-military aspects of Southern life during the Civil War."
HarpWeek Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Access to full-text and images from Harper's Weekly magazine. Contains primary research material for the study of the American Civil War. Coverage: American Civil War period, 1857-1865.

Web Sites

GPO MetaLib - U.S. Government Printing Office Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
A federated search service from the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO). GPO MetaLib simultaneously searches more than 50 federal government publication catalogs, federal library catalogs, and specialized indexes.
Library of Congress: American Memory Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Historical Text Archive Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos and links for a broad range of historical subjects. Many primary sources included.
American Presidency Project Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
This resource contains over 90,000 documents related to the United States Presidency. Other items included in the collection are detailed election results for every Presidential election since 1789, State of the Union addresses made by nearly every President, and media coverage of several modern Presidents.
New York City's Department of Records Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
New York City's Department of Records has created a photo database containing 870,000 historic photos of NYC going back to the mid-1800s.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Wanda  Abrams

Wanda Abrams
Adjunct Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: