All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. There are millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
CQ Researcher provides access to in-depth, balanced, analytical reporting on current and controversial topics. Each covered topic features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens, numerous graphs and sidebar articles, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts. Coverage: 1991-present.
JSTOR Some full text available Resource contains images
JSTOR provides unique access to fulltext backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles. 
Military and Government Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.


Military and Intelligence Collection Restricted Resource
Access scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Politics and Government Journals at Coulter Library Restricted Resource
Click on this link to find journals and magazines available at Coulter Library.  If you need help with your search, please ask a librarian!
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Opposing Viewpoints covers controversial social issues such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, endangered species, and terrorism. This database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.

Books and Ebooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Reference and Research

Dictionary of Political Thought
Print Location: REF JA61.S37 2011 Restricted Resource
A useful reference book that offers short definitions of political terms.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights
Print Location: REF JC571.E673 2009 Some full text available Resource contains images
A five-volume set exploring the developing story of human rights.
Encyclopedia of Political Science
Print Location: REF JA61.E513 2011 Some full text available Resource contains images
A five-volume set that surveys world politics at the beginning of the 21st century.
Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought
Print Location: REF JC49.P75 2013 Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
A resource that discusses the Islamic world today through an historical perspective.

Audio/Visual

Films on Demand: Languages Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This collection includes thousands of online films on a wide variety of topics including business, science, health, history and more. Film lengths range from one or 2 minutes to 2 hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing. Films are linkable.
Kanopy Streaming Service Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" solution for college campuses offering over 26,000 films -- documentaries, feature films and training videos -- from thousands of producers with numerous new releases launched daily.

Websites

USA.gov Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
This government website serves as the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov provides access to U.S. government information and services on the web.
Very Short Introduction: American Politics Some full text available
American Politics: A Very Short Introduction introduces the vital elements of American politics. Using an historical-institutional approach, it explains how the American political system is, and always has been, a work in progress — one unfolding within, and also constantly updating, an eighteenth-century constitutional framework.
American Political Science Association Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The American Political Science Association, founded in 1903, is the leading professional organization for the study of political science and serves more than 15,000 members in over 80 countries. With a range of programs and services for individuals, departments and institutions, APSA brings together political scientists from all fields of inquiry, regions, and occupational endeavors within and outside academe in order to expand awareness and understanding of politics. 
International Political Science Organization Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
IPSA was founded in Paris in 1949 under the aegis of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO).  The special mandate of IPSA, expressed in its Constitution, is to support the development of political science in all parts of the world, building academic networks linking East and West, North and South. Its aim is to create an inclusive and global political science community in which all can participate. It seeks to promote collaboration between scholars in emerging and established democracies and to support the academic freedoms needed for the social sciences to flourish.
Congress.gov Some full text availableopenURL
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Printing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
New York State Assembly Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The Assembly is part of the New York State Legislature. The Assembly has 150 members, who represent 150 different districts throughout New York State. Together with the State Senate, the Assembly passes bills that affect people throughout the state of New York. The Assembly meets in Albany every year for a legislative session. 
New York State Senate Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Besides passing upon legislative proposals and constitutional amendments, the Senate confirms or rejects nominations made by the Governor for the filling of certain State and judicial offices. It also sits at times as a court of impeachment, and can be convened in extraordinary session to perform either of these latter functions. The Lieutenant Governor while not a member of the Senate, is its President and presiding officer but, by constitutional enactment, has only a casting vote therein. The Majority Leader is also the Temporary President, presides in the absence of the Lieutenant Governor and is next in line to the Lieutenant Governor in succession to the governorship.
Democratic National Committee Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Democrats believe that society is greater together than on our own—that the United States succeeds when everyone gets a fair shot, when everyone does their fair share, when everyone plays by the same rules. The party, led by President Obama, is focused on building an economy to benefit all Americans.
Republican National Committee Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Republicans believe in the power and opportunity of a free market economy, the importance of small government, a strong national defense, and energy independence.
Ask A Librarian | Research Help
Visit the library in person
Call us 315-498-2334
Email us a question library@sunyocc.edu
Response time for email questions is usually within 2 business days.

Chat live in real time
AskUs 24/7 live chat is a cooperative service monitored by librarians from many states and several international libraries. You may not be chatting with an OCC librarian or even a librarian from Central New York.

Research Help
Various research resources are available when you click this link, such as how to begin to research a paper, and how to evaluate and cite resources.

Finding A Topic
Selecting a topic may sound easy, but it can be the most difficult decision in a research project. Here are tips! 
Call Numbers
 
To locate books in the library, you can browse these call number areas.

JA Political Science - General
JC Political Theory
JF Public Administration - General
JK Politcial Institutions and public  administration U.S.
JS Local government
JV Colonies, Colonization, Emigration, Immigration
JZ International relations
Finding a Topic
Selecting a topic may sound easy, but it can be the most difficult decision in a research project. Here are tips for
How to Start Researching a Topic
Return to the Subject Guide listing:
Access research databases from off-campus
All the research databases located here can be accessed from off-campus by entering a valid OCC login and password when prompted.

To obtain an OCC login and password you must contact the OCC Helpdesk. The Helpdesk will require a current OCCID that has been validated for the current semester.

​Unable to log in? Contact the Helpdesk at 315.498.2999 or at helpdesk@sunyocc.edu or view their webpage for more information.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943