All Items by Source

Handbooks & Guides

Need Research Help?
Various research resources are available when you click this link, such as how to begin to research a paper, and how to evaluate and cite resources.

Journals/Magazines

Physical Educator Restricted Resource Some full text available
An academic journal that contains peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of physical education for professional educators.

Web Sites

American Kinesiology Association: Strength and Conditioning Coach Some full text availableopenURL
This page provides information about the field of strength and conditioning coaching. 
Career OneStop Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Is an integrated suite of national web sites sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor which provides employment and career resources.
How to Become a P.E. Teacher: Salary and Job Description
This website provides information about the field of physical education teaching. This site is provided by Concordia University.
How to Become an Athletic Director
A six part series of articles about becoming an athletic director written by Michael Cross, Athletic Director, Bradley University.
National Association for Sport and Physical Education (NASPE) Career Page Some full text availableopenURL

SHAPE America's "Field of Study" page provides an overview of various careers including the following:

  • athletic training
  • coaching
  • dance
  • exercise science
  • health education
  • physical education
  • recreation/leisure
  • sport management

Occupational Therapist Profile (Career OneStop) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Offers information about a career as an occupational therapist, including wages, employment trends, knowledge, skills, abilities, education and training, and web resources. National, state, and local information is available, as well as trend and wage comparisons across occupations and geographical areas.
PE Central: Becoming a Physical Education Teacher Some full text availableopenURL
This web page provides physical education teacher career information. It addresses questions about education, experience, responsibilities, and more. There is also additional information regarding other aspects of physical educaton teaching on the website.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Multi-Search Tool - Career Research
On the library homepage you have access to a multi-search research tool that searches a large number of databases with one search. To find the most relevant information about a specific career, type the name of the career you are interested in searching then add the following "AND Career" (e.g. Athletic Director AND Career). 

When you are on the results page you can narrow your search in numerous ways. One way is by selecting additional subjects from the subject listing in the left navigation menu. 
Web Searching - Career Research
You can find valuable career information by visiting professional organization sites and college or university pages that focus on your particular career. These websites often provide information about education requirements, internship possiblities, job opportunities and more. 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Pauline Shostack

Pauline Shostack
Library Department Chair
Tel: 3154982708

Return to the Subject Guide listing: