All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. There are millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Alt Health Watch Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Focus is on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full text articles from 1990-current from more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. Also hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. 
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available
This predominantly full-text database includes over 60 journals in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Topics include proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.

Websites

National Association for Sport and Physical Education (NASPE) Career Page Some full text availableopenURL

SHAPE America's "Field of Study" page provides an overview of various careers including the following:

  • athletic training
  • coaching
  • dance
  • physical education
  • sport management

P.E.Links4U Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Extensive collection of physical education resourcesNew; including K-12 phys ed sites, associations, discussion groups, standards, lesson plans, phys ed academic areas, and more.
 
PE Central: Becoming a Physical Education Teacher Some full text availableopenURL
This web page provides physical education teacher career information. It addresses questions about education, experience, responsibilities, and more. There is also additional information regarding other aspects of physical educaton teaching on the website.
President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports
This website includes resources for coaches, teachers, kids, health care and fitness professionals.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert O'Boyle

Robert O'Boyle
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: