Databases
ABCEFGHIKLMNOPRSUVWNumAll

19th Century U.S. Newspapers
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
A to Z the World
This database provides reliable, up-to-date facts and information on different countries in many different categories. It is intended for students, researchers, educators, travelers, and logistics and international trade professionals. It includes country profiles as well as digital reference information, maps, books, and atlases.
Academic Video Online (VAST)
VAST is a collection of almost 20,000 streaming videos. It includes content in the following discipline areas: art, architecture, business, counseling, criminal justice, economics, education, history, humanities, law, nursing, philosophy, politics, science, languages, and more.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Newspapers enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
Artemis Literary Sources
Artemis Literary Sources brings together Gale’s premier literary databases - the Gale Virtual Reference Library, the Literature Resource Center, and Litfinder - in a new digital environment that enables researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
Artemis Primary Sources
Artemis Primary Sources allows researchers to uncover primary source documents in the 19th Century U.S. Newspapers archive where they may not have thought to look, greatly enhancing their research experience. Artemis Primary Sources offers a seamless research environment.
ArticleFirst
Contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of nearly 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Each record describes one article, news story, letter, or other item. (NOTE:  Provides primarily citations *only*.)
ChemSynthesis
A freely accessible database of chemicals with synthesis references from twelve respected chemistry journals. The database contains substances with their synthesis references and physical properties (melting point, boiling point, density, etc). There are currently more than 40,000 compounds and more than 45,000 synthesis references in the database.
Chronicle of Higher Education
This online version of the print serial covers the current week's developments in education. Includes educational statistics, and a searchable listing of the job advertisements appearing in that week's Chronicle. Complete access includes all of the premium content generally reserved for print subscribers. Full text from the current issue is posted every Monday morning; and the previous issue is added to a searchable archive of issues dating back to September 1989. The Chronicle's web site is updated daily with news of academe from across the nation and around the world.
Gannett Newsstand Complete
Contains over 85 Gannett newspapers, 6 of which are New York newspapers. These include the Ithaca Journal, Poughkeepsie Journal, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Journal News (White Plains), Press and Sun-Bulletin (Binghamton) and Star-Gazette (Elmira).
 
Kanopy Streaming Service
Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" solution for college campuses offering over 26,000 films -- documentaries, feature films and training videos -- from thousands of producers with numerous new releases launched daily.
Merck Manual Online
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, the Merck Manual is a widely-used, comprehensive medical resource for professionals and consumers.  Continuing its mission to provide the best, current medical information to a wide array of users, the entire manual is now available online.  Click here and then choose either the professional or consumer site, depending upon the type of information you need.
Music Online Listening Collection (Alexander St. Press)
Music Online Listening Collection contains music audio files from genre specific databases. These databases contain classical, jazz, and global musical selections.
New York Times Digital Microfilm
The New York Times on digital microfilm is available for the years 2008 to the present. (NOTE: There is a two month delay for additions to the database.) This resource is not searchable, but is browseable by date.
Online Newspaper Directory for the World
Online Newspaper Directory for the World links to thousands of newspapers by country and region. The journals appear in their local languages, with some English versions.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online
The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3).
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
This predominantly full-text database includes over 60 journals in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Topics include proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.
Post-Standard (historical)
This database provides access to digital scans of the full-text pages of the Post-Standard and other Syracuse Newspapers dating back to 1857. The archive contains public records for the Central New York region:  obituaries, births, engagements, weddings, anniversaries, high school graduations, real estate transactions, court indictments, bankruptcies, liens, tax warrants, judgments; police blotters, restaurant inspections, and more. The full-page newspapers in this collection, which chronicle the last 180 years of Central New York history, are searchable by keyword and date.
PubMed Central
The official repository for all federally-funded medical research accepted for publication (as mandated by the National Institute of Health's Grants Policy.)
RePEc: Research Papers in Economics
"A...public-access database that promotes scholarly communication in economics and related disciplines. The database contains information on more than 585,000 items..."
Salem Press - History
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned historical content both in traditional, printed form and online.  This resource includes access to The Reference Shelf:  an online collection of current titles of historical significance. Also includes Defining Documents and Milestone Documents in American History and World History.
Salem Press - Literature
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned literary content both in traditional, printed form and online.
Salem Press - Science
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned scientific content both in traditional, printed form and online.
SCOLA
SCOLA's mission is to help the people of the world learn about each other; their cultures; their languages; and their ideologies.  SCOLA receives and re-transmits foreign TV programming from around the world and provides other foreign language resources, language lessons, and learning materials on its website. SCOLA emphasizes the importance and effectiveness of modern information technology as a tool in overcoming barriers to global understanding.  
Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN)
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a world wide collaborative of over 295,900 authors and more than 1.7 million users that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. It is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, and each network encourages the early distribution of research results by reviewing and distributing submitted abstracts and full text papers from scholars around the world.

 
WorldCat
This database allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and see which libraries own a particular item. Content is updated daily.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files