Databases
ABCEFGHIKLMNOPRSUVWNumAll

19th Century U.S. Newspapers
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
A to Z the World
This database provides reliable, up-to-date facts and information on different countries in many different categories. It is intended for students, researchers, educators, travelers, and logistics and international trade professionals. It includes country profiles as well as digital reference information, maps, books, and atlases.
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. There are millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Academic Video Online (VAST)
VAST is a collection of almost 20,000 streaming videos. It includes content in the following discipline areas: art, architecture, business, counseling, criminal justice, economics, education, history, humanities, law, nursing, philosophy, politics, science, languages, and more.
AccessScience
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge offering links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations covering all major scientific disciplines. Also includes specially designed curriculum maps for teachers, and other online features.
 
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Newspapers enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
Alt Health Watch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
America's Historical Newspapers
Timeline and topic search covering issues, events, literature, inventions and more from the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, Roaring Twenties, Great Depression, World War II, Civil Rights Movement, Vietnam War, globalization and other eras.
Applied Science and Technology Source
Providing content from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers guides, directories, conference proceedings and more, Applied Science and Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Artemis Literary Sources
Artemis Literary Sources brings together Gale’s premier literary databases - the Gale Virtual Reference Library, the Literature Resource Center, and Litfinder - in a new digital environment that enables researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
Artemis Primary Sources
Artemis Primary Sources allows researchers to uncover primary source documents in the 19th Century U.S. Newspapers archive where they may not have thought to look, greatly enhancing their research experience. Artemis Primary Sources offers a seamless research environment.
ArticleFirst
Contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of nearly 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Each record describes one article, news story, letter, or other item. (NOTE:  Provides primarily citations *only*.)
Associates Programs Source
The Associates Programs Source contains nearly 1,000 full-text journals as well as 11 full-text books. This database is designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, and provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associates program level content. The database covers subjects as wide-ranging as: alcohol & drug abuse counseling, audiology, biotechnology, computer & data processing, CAD, cosmetology, electrical technology, fashion design, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement & criminal justice, paralegal studies, robotics, travel & tourism, veterinary assisting, and dozens more equally varied areas of study.
Britannica Academic
Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use Encyclopedia Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
BuildingGreen Suite
BuildingGreen Suite provides comprehensive, fully researched sustainable design strategies and green products reviews that are essential for anyone involved in the sustainable design field. It features comprehensive, practical information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building--from energy efficiency and recycled-content materials to land-use planning and indoor air quality. BG Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News, and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies. This wealth of information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEEDs credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources.
Business Insights: Essentials

Business Insights provides in depth coverage of businesses, including company profiles, industry profiles and trends, products and brands, financial reports, company rankings, histories as well as full text periodical articles from business magazines and newspapers and trade journals. 


Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides full text back to 1965 (or the first issue published for that journal) and searchable cited references back as far as 1998. Full text coverage is available in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
ChemSynthesis
A freely accessible database of chemicals with synthesis references from twelve respected chemistry journals. The database contains substances with their synthesis references and physical properties (melting point, boiling point, density, etc). There are currently more than 40,000 compounds and more than 45,000 synthesis references in the database.
Chronicle of Higher Education
This online version of the print serial covers the current week's developments in education. Includes educational statistics, and a searchable listing of the job advertisements appearing in that week's Chronicle. Complete access includes all of the premium content generally reserved for print subscribers. Full text from the current issue is posted every Monday morning; and the previous issue is added to a searchable archive of issues dating back to September 1989. The Chronicle's web site is updated daily with news of academe from across the nation and around the world.
CINAHL Help Guide
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides citations and full-text articles related to nursing and allied health. Coverage: 1982-present, abstracts since 1986. Updated monthly. Tutorial: Video, PowerPoint
Communications & Mass Media Collection
This collection provides information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
Computer Source
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
CoRR - Computing Research Repository
CoRR allows researchers to search, browse and download papers related to computer studies through its online repository. CoRR is available to all members of of the community at no charge.
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides access to in-depth, balanced, analytical reporting on current and controversial topics. Each covered topic features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens, numerous graphs and sidebar articles, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts. Coverage: 1991-present.
Criminal Justice Collection
This collection provides resources in the areas of law, law enforcement, paralegal, and Homeland Security. Users will have access to 150 journals.
Culinary Arts Collection
The Culinary Arts collection includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
The SUNYConnect collection includes 1370 ebooks on a wide variety of topics.
ebrary
ebrary is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference ebooks for multidisciplinary research.
Ed.flicks
Exchange training videos on demand.
Education Source
As the complete source of education scholarship, Education Source covers all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education - as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Energy and Power Source
Energy and Power Source is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the energy and power industries at all levels. Energy and Power Source offers cover-to-cover indexing from more than 1,000 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with energy industry-related issues. Hundreds of key energy-focused industry and market reports are also included. The database also offers tens of thousands of additional highly-relevant articles, benchmarks, and best practices, selected from a multitude of trade and industry publications. Designed for energy industry professionals and researchers of all types, Energy Power Source is the premier dedicated collection of energy and power industry-related content available today.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Entrepreneurial Studies Source provides the latest insight into topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business. This database offers users full text for more than 125 key periodicals, 135 reference books, case studies, thousands of company profiles and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Series and Vator.TV.
Environment Complete
Environment Complete includes articles in areas of agriculture, ecology, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, and urban planning. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist,and Conservation Biology.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
This collection contains more than 3.3 million articles, addressing such issues as global warming, climate change, alternative energy, environmental policy, going green, recycling, soil, plants, agronomy and much more.
ERIC (from Ebsco)
EBSCO's version of the ERIC database provides journal articles and reports on education topics. Coverage: 1966-present. Updated: monthly. 
Films on Demand
This collection includes thousands of online films on a wide variety of topics. Film lengths range from one or 2 minutes to 2 hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing. Films are linkable.
Fine Arts and Music Collection
This collection provides students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy
(NOTE: This resource is best viewed using Google Chrome.) This database provides access to interactive 3D anatomical models, allowing students to better visualize and understand human anatomy. Reference and periodical content provide additional context for further understanding. Trial available 6/8/17 - 7/20/17
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Gannett Newsstand Complete
Contains over 85 Gannett newspapers, 6 of which are New York newspapers. These include the Ithaca Journal, Poughkeepsie Journal, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Journal News (White Plains), Press and Sun-Bulletin (Binghamton) and Star-Gazette (Elmira).
 
General OneFile
General OneFile includes more than 8,000 magazine and journal titles (most in full text with no embargo) and millions of articles. This database serves a wide audience of readers and is a useful resource to find general background on a topic. To retrieve more peer-reviewed articles, use the Academic Onefile database.
Green File
GreenFILE offers well-researched articles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
HarpWeek
Access to full-text and images from Harper's Weekly magazine. Contains primary research material for the study of the American Civil War. Coverage: American Civil War period, 1857-1865.
Health Reference Center Academic
This database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's Health Reference Center.
Humanities Source
As the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing - for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more, Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities.
InfoTrac Newstand
With this full-text newspaper resource, find articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Includes indexing for the Syracuse Post Standard but not the full text articles. If you have an Onondaga County Public Library card, you can access the Syracuse Newspapers 1986-present via the Newsbank Database.
 
Kanopy Streaming Service
Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" solution for college campuses offering over 26,000 films -- documentaries, feature films and training videos -- from thousands of producers with numerous new releases launched daily.
LGBT Life with Full Text
LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexes more than 690 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Literature Resource Center
The Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. It covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or combine criteria to create a customized search.
MasterFILE Premier
This database features 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews; nearly 500 full text reference books (including the World Almanac & Book of Facts), full text from 84,074 biographies, 86,135 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary (4th Edition), and an image collection of 188,323 photos, maps and flags. MasterFILE Premier offers PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications.
MEDLINE
MEDLINE via EBSCO provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses the MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Merck Manual Online
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, the Merck Manual is a widely-used, comprehensive medical resource for professionals and consumers.  Continuing its mission to provide the best, current medical information to a wide array of users, the entire manual is now available online.  Click here and then choose either the professional or consumer site, depending upon the type of information you need.
Military and Government Collection

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.


Music Online Listening Collection (Alexander St. Press)
Music Online Listening Collection contains music audio files from genre specific databases. These databases contain classical, jazz, and global musical selections.
National Fire Codes
The National Fire Codes Database gives you unlimited access to the most up-to-date standards and handbooks. Information also included for New York City, Florida, California, Hawaii, Kansas, and Oregon.
New England Journal of Medicine
Peer-reviewed original articles for those interested in medical practice. Sections include Images in Clinical Medicine, Review Articles, Editorials, Correspondence, and Case Records of the the Massachusetts General Hospital. The online version of this journal includes full text access from 1993 to the present and citation/abstract access for the 1975-1992.
New York Newspapers
New York Newspapers provides access to full-text articles from the New York Times and other New York state newspapers. Full text articles are searchable from present date back to the late 1990s for most titles in this database.
New York Times Digital Microfilm
The New York Times on digital microfilm is available for the years 2008 to the present. (NOTE: There is a two month delay for additions to the database.) This resource is not searchable, but is browseable by date.
Nursing
Coulter Library subscribes to the digital version of Nursing. This ejournal provides scholarly articles for practitioners in the field of nursing.
Online Newspaper Directory for the World
Online Newspaper Directory for the World links to thousands of newspapers by country and region. The journals appear in their local languages, with some English versions.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints covers controversial social issues such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, endangered species, and terrorism. This database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online
The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3).
Oxford's Very Short Introductions

Oxford Press' "Very Short Introductions" database offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.


Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
This predominantly full-text database includes over 60 journals in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Topics include proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.
Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
Post-Standard (historical)
This database provides access to digital scans of the full-text pages of the Post-Standard and other Syracuse Newspapers dating back to 1857. The archive contains public records for the Central New York region:  obituaries, births, engagements, weddings, anniversaries, high school graduations, real estate transactions, court indictments, bankruptcies, liens, tax warrants, judgments; police blotters, restaurant inspections, and more. The full-page newspapers in this collection, which chronicle the last 180 years of Central New York history, are searchable by keyword and date.
PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES is a robust database offering complete access to the full text of more than 90 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for over 560 journals.
Psychology Collection
This collection of over 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time.
PubChem
From the National Insitute of Health; chemical structure search and bioactivity analysis.
PubMed Central
The official repository for all federally-funded medical research accepted for publication (as mandated by the National Institute of Health's Grants Policy.)
Readers' Guide Retrospective Coverage dates: 1890 - 1982
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
RePEc: Research Papers in Economics
"A...public-access database that promotes scholarly communication in economics and related disciplines. The database contains information on more than 585,000 items..."
Salem Press - History
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned historical content both in traditional, printed form and online.  This resource includes access to The Reference Shelf:  an online collection of current titles of historical significance. Also includes Defining Documents and Milestone Documents in American History and World History.
Salem Press - Literature
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned literary content both in traditional, printed form and online.
Salem Press - Science
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned scientific content both in traditional, printed form and online.
SCOLA
SCOLA's mission is to help the people of the world learn about each other; their cultures; their languages; and their ideologies.  SCOLA receives and re-transmits foreign TV programming from around the world and provides other foreign language resources, language lessons, and learning materials on its website. SCOLA emphasizes the importance and effectiveness of modern information technology as a tool in overcoming barriers to global understanding.  
Social Sciences Full Text
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN)
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a world wide collaborative of over 295,900 authors and more than 1.7 million users that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. It is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, and each network encourages the early distribution of research results by reviewing and distributing submitted abstracts and full text papers from scholars around the world.

 
Statista
Statista is an online resource for statistical data. It provides statistics on more than 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. Data is categorized into 21 market sectors. Sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Statistics are displayed in graphs and can be downloaded in a number of formats including Power Point and Excel. 
 

U.S. History in Context

U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today.


Vocational and Career Collection (Ebsco)
This collection provides full text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.
World History Collection
Access to more than 40 scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
World History in Context
World History in Context is a comprehensive online collection that uses an intuitive, web-like interface to provide multicultural, global and research-based dynamic content that supports today's history research requirements. Reference books, audio and video content, biographies, articles and more. Includes detailed biographical information on more than 100 famous historical figures.
World History in Video
This online collection of streaming video provides a global survey of human history from 8000 BCE to the late 1980s through almost 2000 documentaries most frequently used today in university-level classes teaching world history, ancient history, Western civilization, European history, regional history, and documentary film.
WorldCat
This database allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and see which libraries own a particular item. Content is updated daily.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files