Veterans

All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Military and Government Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.


Books and Ebooks

Charlie Mike: A True Story of Heroes Who Brought Their Mission Home
Print Location: UB363 .K66 2015
Two combat veterans come home from the Middle East and find a new way to save their comrades and heal their country.
Fields of Combat: Understanding PTSD Among Veterans of Iraq and Afghanistan
Print Location: RC552 .P67 F545 2011
Describes the impact of post traumatic stress disorder on veterans and their families and how they navigate the return home.
Life After the Military: A Handbook for Transitioning Veterans
Print Location: UB357 .H55 2013
Discusses the issues transitioning veterans face when making the move to civilian life.
Veteran's Money Book, The Restricted Resource Some full text available
Written from personal experience, the author offers practical advice to pay down debt, create a budget, establish long term spending and saving habits, and where to seek further assistance. 
Wounded Warrior Handbook: A Resource Guide for Returning Veterans
Print Location: UB363 .P55 2009
Provides wounded soldiers and their families with straightforward answers to questions they now face and guides them through procedures to receive the care they need.

Websites

Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains video
Founded in 2004, this organization provides assistance to new veterans and their families in the areas of health, education, employment and community. It raises awareness of veterans' issues and advocates for supportive policies. 
Syracuse VA Medical Center openURL Resource contains images
Part of VA Healthcare Upstate New York, the Syracuse VA Medical Center opened in 1953.
Utilizing state of the art technology, it offers a full range of patient care services, education and research, training, vocational services and more.
United States Department of Veterans Affairs Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains video
Guides veterans to extensive information about benefits and services such as health, compensation, employment, education, insurance and other matters.
Veterans History Project Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Collects oral  history interviews, memoirs, letters, diaries, photographs and other original materials from veterans of World Wars I and II, Korean, Vietnam, Persian Gulf and Afghanistan conflicts and gives guidelines for participating in the project. From the American Folklife Center of the Library of Congress.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert O'Boyle

Robert O'Boyle
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: