Sports Medicine

All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Provides access to 3D interactive anatomical models to allow better visualization and understanding of human anatomy. Includes more than 43,000 structure and 13,500 identifiable landmarks in the human body. Reference, quizzes, and periodical content are included to provide additional context.
Health Reference Center Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health Reference Center Academic ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
New England Journal of Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Peer-reviewed original articles for those interested in medical practice. Sections include Images in Clinical Medicine, Review Articles, Editorials, Correspondence, and Case Records of the the Massachusetts General Hospital. The online version of this journal includes full text access from 1993 to the present and citation/abstract access for the 1975-1992.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available
This predominantly full-text database includes over 60 journals in the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Topics include proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.
Sports Medicine Journals at Coulter Library Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
A listing of journals addressing sports medicine issues and current events.  Off-campus login required.

Reference and Research

Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine
Print Location: REF RC 1206.E53 2011 v1-v4 Some full text available Resource contains images
This 4 volume set compiles articles on key themes in sports medicine.  Each comprehensive article looks at the anatomy of the injury or condition, the causes, the symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment - both surgical and nonsurgical.  Themes include conditioning and training, diagnosis and treatment of sports injuries, diet and nutrition, doping and performance enhancement, exercise physiology, biomechanics, kinesiology, injuries and disorders, injury prevention, rehabilitation and physical therapy, special populations, specialties and occupations in sports medicine, sport psychology, women and sports.  All entries are written by experts in their discipline.  Includes selected diagnostic and treatment techniques with over 200 photographs.
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine
Print Location: REF RC 1206.E53 2011 v1-v4 Some full text available Resource contains images
This 4 volume set compiles articles on key themes in sports medicine.  Each comprehensive article looks at the anatomy of the injury or condition, the causes, the symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment - both surgical and nonsurgical.  Themes include conditioning and training, diagnosis and treatment of sports injuries, diet and nutrition, doping and performance enhancement, exercise physiology, biomechanics, kinesiology, injuries and disorders, injury prevention, rehabilitation and physical therapy, special populations, specialties and occupations in sports medicine, sport psychology, women and sports.  All entries are written by experts in their discipline.  Includes selected diagnostic and treatment techniques with over 200 photographs.

Websites

American Medical Society for Sports Medicine Some full text availableopenURL
The American Medical Society for Sports Medicine (AMSSM) is a professional organization specifically geared towards physicians and medical practitioners in the field of sports medicine.  The AMSSM was formed in 1991 to fill a void that has existed in sports medicine from its earliest beginnings. The founders realized that while there were several physician organizations which supported sports medicine, there was not a forum specific for primary care non-surgical sports medicine physicians.  This organization seeks to fill that void through education, research, advocacy, patient care, communications, infrastructure, and collaboration. 
 
Physical Therapist Assistant, AAS
This program is a two-year (four consecutive semesters, followed by one summer) program leading to an Associate of Applied Science degree. It is approved by the New York State Education Department, and is fully accredited by the American Physical Therapy Association. The program begins in the fall semester only.

Your Physical Therapist Assistant A.A.S. degree will prepare you for employment as a competent entry-level physical therapist assistant. This program provides the education you need to become a skilled technical worker, prepared specifically to perform physical therapy interventions and related duties as assigned by a registered physical therapist. As a PTA, you will work under the supervision of a physical therapist utilizing prescribed activities to help patients recover physical function and strength lost through disease, injury or other causes, and to relieve pain and promote healing. Your patient may be a small child born with physical disabilities or an athlete with a shoulder injury, an older person with limited function because of arthritis or a teenager immobilized by an accident. - From the OCC program description website
PubMed Central Some full text availableopenURL
The official repository for all federally-funded medical research accepted for publication (as mandated by the National Institute of Health's Grants Policy.)

Associations

American College of Sports Medicine
ACSM is the largest sports medicine and exercise science organization in the world. With more than 50,000 members and certified professionals worldwide, ACSM is dedicated to advancing and integrating scientific research to provide educational and practical applications of exercise science and sports medicine.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Dave Durfey

Dave Durfey
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: