Sports and Recreation

stats image
All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Alt Health Watch Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Focus is on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full text articles from 1990-current from more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. Also hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. 
Sports and Recreation Journals at Coulter Library
A listing of journals at Coulter Library pertaining to sports and recreation.  Off-campus login required.

Websites

National Association for Sport and Physical Education (NASPE) Career Page Some full text availableopenURL

SHAPE America's "Field of Study" page provides an overview of various careers including the following:

  • athletic training
  • coaching
  • dance
  • physical education
  • sport management

PED101: Course Guide Some full text available
A treasure trove of information for PED101 research assignments, but also for anyone doing career research in the sports and recreation discipline.
Physical Education & Exercise Science A.S.
The Associate in Science (A.S.) degree in Physical Education & Exercise Science Studies is suitable for students whose goals include teaching, coaching, sports management, and careers in the broad fitness and wellness fields. This program prepares students for transfer into a bachelor’s degree program in physical education, exercise science, sports management, or other fitness/health-related curricula. The curriculum emphasizes professionalism, wellness lifestyle, health awareness and leadership by providing background knowledge and skills that form the foundation of these fields. Required courses include health, human anatomy and physiology, exercise science, psychology, and required liberal arts courses.
Physical Therapist Assistant, AAS
This program is a two-year (four consecutive semesters, followed by one summer) program leading to an Associate of Applied Science degree. It is approved by the New York State Education Department, and is fully accredited by the American Physical Therapy Association. The program begins in the fall semester only.

Your Physical Therapist Assistant A.A.S. degree will prepare you for employment as a competent entry-level physical therapist assistant. This program provides the education you need to become a skilled technical worker, prepared specifically to perform physical therapy interventions and related duties as assigned by a registered physical therapist. As a PTA, you will work under the supervision of a physical therapist utilizing prescribed activities to help patients recover physical function and strength lost through disease, injury or other causes, and to relieve pain and promote healing. Your patient may be a small child born with physical disabilities or an athlete with a shoulder injury, an older person with limited function because of arthritis or a teenager immobilized by an accident. - From the OCC program description website
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert O'Boyle

Robert O'Boyle
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: