Social Science

All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Social Science Journals at Coulter Library Restricted Resource
A listing of social science journals available online and/or in Coulter Library's Periodicals department.
Social Sciences Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN) Some full text availableopenURL
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a world wide collaborative of over 295,900 authors and more than 1.7 million users that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. It is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, and each network encourages the early distribution of research results by reviewing and distributing submitted abstracts and full text papers from scholars around the world.

 

Books and Ebooks

Organized Mind: thinking straight in the age of information overload
Print Location: BF323.D5 L49 2014 Some full text available
The information age is drowning us with an unprecedented deluge of data. At the same time, we’re expected to make more -- and faster -- decisions about our lives than ever before. No wonder, then, that the average American reports frequently losing car keys or reading glasses, missing appointments, and feeling worn out by the effort required just to keep up. But somehow some people become quite accomplished at managing information flow. In The Organized Mind, Daniel J. Levitin, PhD, uses the latest brain science to demonstrate how those people excel -- and how readers can use their methods to regain a sense of mastery over the way they organize their homes, workplaces, and time.

Websites

SocioSite Social Science Information System Some full text availableopenURL
The SocioSite is designed to provide access to information and resources which are relevant for sociologists and other social scientists. It has been designed from a global perspective, with the intention to provide a comprehensive listing of all sociology resources on the Internet.

Journals/Magazines

LGBT Life with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Angela Weiler

Angela Weiler
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: