Religion

All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Religion and Philosophy Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.

Books and Ebooks

Illustrated World's Religions: A guide to Our Wisdom Traditions, The
Print Location: REF BL80.2 .S6455 1994 Resource contains images
Revised and updated version of Huston Smith's classic The Religions of Man, richly illustrated.
Private Doubt, Public Dilemma: Religion and Science Since Jefferson and Darwin
Print Location: BL240.3 .T485 2015
The author, a historian of science, asserts that the conflict between science and religion is not so different today from previous centuries, and attempts to find a common ground between the two.
Religious Freedom in America: Constitutional Roots and Contemporary Challenges
Print Location: BR516 .R375 2015
Understanding religious freedom, as defined by rights of conscience, continues to be of vital interest. This book brings together writings of historians, social scientests, legal scholars and advocates, offering insight to American constitutional heritage of religious liberty.

Reference and Research

Encyclopedia of African and African American Religions
Print Location: REF BL2462.5 .E53 2001 Resource contains images
Religion has always been central to African and African-American cultures. This book covers religious movements and churches of Africa, the Americas, the Caribbean and elsewhere.
Encyclopedia of Religion. 2d Ed.
Print Location: REF. BL31 .E46 2005 Resource contains images
Considered the standard reference work in the field, this 15 volume set provides extensive, in-depth information on religions, from historical times to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Religious Controversies in the United States
Print Location: REF BR515 .E53 2013
 This two volume set examines the development of religious controversies in the U.S. and their effects on American history and society.
Religious Holidays and Calendars: An Encyclopedic Handbook 3rd ed.
Print Location: REF CE6 .K45 2004
Covers the history of calendars, provides overviews of world religions and describes their holidays.

Websites

BBC Religions Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Provides overviews of the world's major religions, with information on their history, beliefs, ethics, traditions and other pertinent issues.
InterFaith Works of Central New York Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
"InterFaith Works of Central New York, through education, service and dialogue, affirms the dignity of each person and every faigh community and works to create relationships and understanding among us."
Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Features surveys, news and reports on contemporary issues of religious beliefs and practices and their effects on public affairs in the U.S. and the world.
Virtual Religion Index Some full text availableopenURL
An extensive, annotated and well organized  directory on religion and related topics, from the Rutgers University Religion Department.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Wanda  Abrams

Wanda Abrams
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: