Physics

All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles with extensive coverage of business, the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. There are millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
AccessScience Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge offering links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations covering all major scientific disciplines. Also includes specially designed curriculum maps for teachers, and other online features.
 
Applied Science and Technology Source Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Providing content from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers guides, directories, conference proceedings and more, Applied Science and Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Physics Journals at Coulter Library
A listing of physics journals available digitally and in print format through Coulter Library.
Salem Press - Science Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned scientific content both in traditional, printed form and online.

Books and Ebooks

Principles of Physics
Print Location: QC7.P75 2016
Brief entries provide an introduction to the fundamentals of physics.
Seven Brief Lessons on Physics
Print Location: QC24.5.R68513 2016
An introduction to modern physics by a founder of the loop quantum gravity theory shares seven succinct lessons on topics ranging from general relativity and quantum mechanics to elementary particles and black holes.

Reference and Research

Biographical Dictionary of Scientists - Physicists
Print Location: REF QC15.B56 1984
Brief, easy to read entries, Glosaary of terms, Index by keyword within the field of Physics.
Dictionary of Physics
Print Location: REF QC5.C56 2009
Concise definitions of key terms and concepts. This 6th edition includes expanded coverage of applied physics, statistical distributions, polymers and nanoscience. Also includes biographical entries, chronology and more.
Instruments of Science: An Historical Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF Q184.5.I57 1998
327 entries cover scientifc instruments from the beginnings of science. Entries explain how a device works, how it is used, and who developed it. Illustrated.

Websites

Brookhaven National Laboratory - Physics Department Some full text availableopenURL
Brookhaven National Laboratory is a multipurpose research institution funded primarily by the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science. It offers cutting-edge large-scale facilities for studies in physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, applied science, and a wide range of advanced technologies. The Laboratory's almost 3,000 scientists, engineers, and support staff are joined each year by more than 4,000 visiting researchers from around the world. Research themes include energy security, photon sciences, QCD matter, physics of the universe, and climate, environment, and  biosciences.
National Science Foundation Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Created "to promote the progress of science," this independent federal agency features discoveries, research, funding guidelines, publications. Its news archives date back to 1995. The National Science Foundation's public investment in science, engineering, education and technology helps to create knowledge and sustain prosperity. Read here about the Internet, microbursts, Web browsers, extrasolar planets, and more. Includes Physics Discoveries
physics.org Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
From the Institute of Physics, a scientific society in the United Kingdom. They are a charitable organization with a worldwide membership of more than 50,000, and work to advance physics education, research and application.

They engage with policymakers and the general public to develop awareness and understanding of the value of physics.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: