Open Educational Resources (for Faculty)

All Items by Source

Websites

bookboon.com Some full text availableopenURL
Textbooks in pdf form, but with advertising embedded in each book. Mostly business and technology books.
College Open Textbooks Some full text availableopenURL
Consortium of sixteen educational organizations from 200 colleges, promoting use and awareness of open e-textbooks to two-year colleges.
 
Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources Some full text availableopenURL
Expanding access to education by promoting awareness and adoption of Open Educational Resources (OER).  Over 200 colleges have joined the consortium and many more use resources posted here.
MERLOT Some full text availableopenURL
"One of the largest collections of open textbooks with over 2,000 free textbooks in the collection... a leading edge, user-centered collection of peer reviewed higher education, online learning materials, catalogued by registered members and a set of faculty development support services."
 
OER Commons Some full text availableopenURL
Created by The Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (ISKME), a non-profit research institute, to support the use of open educational resources.
Open Course Library Some full text availableopenURL
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of the materials (also called open educational resources, or OER) are paired with low cost textbooks ($30 or less). Made available by the Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges.
Open Culture Some full text availableopenURL
A list of 150 authoritative, freely-available e-textbooks. (Advertising is included in the textbooks.)
 
openstax Some full text availableopenURL
From Rice University, an educational content digital repository and content management system "optimized for the delivery of educational content." OpenStax College provides professional-quality textbooks that are free online and low-cost in print. The books are peer-reviewed, backed by supporting materials, and customizable. 
 
Sofia Open Content Initiative Some full text availableopenURL
Not a large collection, but developed specifically by/for community colleges.
 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Angela Weiler

Angela Weiler
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: