Nursing

stats image
All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Alt Health Watch Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Focus is on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full text articles from 1990-current from more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. Also hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. 
CINAHL Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides citations and full-text articles related to nursing and allied health. Coverage: 1982-present, abstracts since 1986. Updated monthly. Tutorial: Video, PowerPoint
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Provides access to 3D interactive anatomical models to allow better visualization and understanding of human anatomy. Includes more than 43,000 structure and 13,500 identifiable landmarks in the human body. Reference, quizzes, and periodical content are included to provide additional context.
Health Reference Center Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health Reference Center Academic ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
New England Journal of Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Peer-reviewed original articles for those interested in medical practice. Sections include Images in Clinical Medicine, Review Articles, Editorials, Correspondence, and Case Records of the the Massachusetts General Hospital. The online version of this journal includes full text access from 1993 to the present and citation/abstract access for the 1975-1992.
Nursing Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Coulter Library subscribes to the digital version of Nursing, the journal of choice among practicing nurses. Known for its easy-to-read style and commitment to quality, With broad coverage of clinical, non-clinical, professional, and human-interest content, it keeps nurses up-to-date on peer-reviewed evidence-based practice about key clinical topics, including cardiac and respiratory care, new drugs, new treatments, and nursing techniques. Clinical illustrations, photographs, and charts help clarify complex clinical concepts. Also covers legal and ethical issues, professional trends and controversies as well as stories written by nurses about their most memorable professional experiences.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection Restricted Resource
Emphasizes full text titles cited in CINAHL and over 10 million articles. The collection's current and authoritative content helps nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum. The search interface includes an enhanced ‘Did you Mean?’ suggestion and Search Assist type-ahead feature to aid researchers in finding the correct information.
Nursing & Allied Health Journals at Coulter Library
A listing of nursing and allied health journals available digitally and in print format through Coulter Library.

Books and Ebooks

Fast Facts for the Student Nurse: Nursing Student Success in a Nutshell
Print Location: RT71 .S73 2012
This book succinctly covers classroom and clinical issues, how to prepare for the NCLEX, and success following graduation.
Nursing: The Ultimate Study Guide Restricted Resource Some full text available
This ebook is contains the core information of the standard nursing curriculum courses: medical/surgical, fundamentals, maternal/child, pediatrics, psychiatric/mental.This study guide highlights material likely to be on the NCLEX-RN exam.
ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
ProQuest Ebook Central is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference ebooks for multidisciplinary research.
TEAS V Study Guide 2016: TEAS Test Prep and Practice Questions for the TEAS Version V Exam
Print Location: LB2353.7 .T43 A85 2016; Book Reserves - 2nd Floor
Practice questions for all concepts and tips from TEAS experts.

Reference and Research

American Nursing
Print Location: REF RT34.A44 1988
Biographical entries for more than 150 American and international nurses from 1840-1940. Includes index by Area of Special Interest or Accomplishment.
DSM V - Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
Print Location: REF RC455.2.C4 D54
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is published by the American Psychiatric Association. It provides the legally-accepted, standard definitions for mental disorders that are used by healthcare professionals in the United States.
Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing
Print Location: REF RT31 .S66 1999
An encyclopedia covering the history of nursing, spanning topics from abortion to World War II. Includes Timeline of Landmarks in Nursing.

Audio/Visual

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This collection includes thousands of online films on a wide variety of topics including business, science, allied health, medicine, nursing, history and more. Film lengths range from a couple minutes to two hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing. 
Kanopy Streaming Service Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" solution for college campuses offering over 26,000 films -- documentaries, feature films and training videos on a wide variety of topics -- from thousands of producers with numerous new releases launched daily.

Websites

100 really REALLY Useful Web Sites for Nurses Some full text availableopenURL
A directory of web sites for nurses and nursing students relating to news, reference, education, care, organizations and other pertinent areas of the field.
BestNursingDegree.com Some full text availableopenURL
A comprehensive site for prospective and current nurses, providing career options, degree programs and school listings, including online degrees. Interviews with nursing professionals offer perspectives into various areas of the field.
Merck Manual Online Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, the Merck Manual is a widely-used, comprehensive medical resource for professionals and consumers.  Continuing its mission to provide the best, current medical information to a wide array of users, the entire manual is now available online.  Click here and then choose either the professional or consumer site, depending upon the type of information you need.
Nursing on the Net Some full text availableopenURL
A comprehensive compilation of websites for nursing professionals by the National Network of Libraries of Medicine. Pertinent areas include Allied Health Resources, Alternative Medicine, Continuing Education, Drug Information, Health News, and others. 
Nursing.org
Provides information to help prospective nurses find, enroll and finance their education, as well as providing a forum to support current nurses with their day-to-day activities and future aspirations. Includes an in-depth guide to 14 different nursing career paths. Each career resource has been reviewed by leaders in the field and builds on data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the American Nurses Association, and organizations within the specialization.
PubMed Central Some full text availableopenURL
The official repository for all federally-funded medical research accepted for publication (as mandated by the National Institute of Health's Grants Policy.)
Red Cross Nursing Some full text availableopenURL
For more than 50 years nursing students have been volunteering with the Red Cross in delivering critical community services. Student nurse volunteers have opportunities to gain clinical, educational and leadership experience while helping prepare for, prevent or respond to emergencies.
Reserves by Nursing Course
Return to the Subject Guide listing:
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943