World Languages

All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

A to Z the World Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This database provides reliable, up-to-date facts and information on different countries in many different categories. It is intended for students, researchers, educators, travelers, and logistics and international trade professionals. It includes country profiles as well as digital reference information, maps, books, and atlases.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Oxford's Very Short Introductions Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

Oxford Press' "Very Short Introductions" database offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.


SCOLA Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
SCOLA's mission is to help the people of the world learn about each other; their cultures; their languages; and their ideologies.  SCOLA receives and re-transmits foreign TV programming from around the world and provides other foreign language resources, language lessons, and learning materials on its website. SCOLA emphasizes the importance and effectiveness of modern information technology as a tool in overcoming barriers to global understanding.  

Books and Ebooks

Great Latin American Novel
Print Location: PQ 7082 .N7 F78513 2016
A compendium of criticism on the evolution of the Latin American novel from the time of Columbus to the present day by pre-eminent Mexican novelist and critic Carlos Fuentes.  

Reference and Research

Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
Print Location: REF PQ7081 .A1 E56 2000
 This book includes entries on topics, countries, 50 leading writers and 50 important works of Latin American literature.

Audio/Visual

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This collection includes thousands of online films on a wide variety of topics including business, science, health, history and more. Film lengths range from one or 2 minutes to 2 hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing. Films are linkable.

Websites

American Sign Language University Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
A sign language resource for ASL which provides free self-study materials and fee-bases courses, a dictionary of signs, articles and many other useful resources.
BBC: Languages Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Provides resources for learning French, German, Spanish and Italian, including sound files, grammar instruction and cultural notes. Offers limited resources for many other languages.
Deafhood Foundation openURL Resource contains images Resource contains video
Deafhood Foundation is "dedicated to achieving economic and social justice for all Deaf people by providing financial, educational and social opportunities to end the economic exploitation of Deaf People."
Learn Chinese Basics Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
This site provides links to Chinese radio stations, newspapers and other resources, in addition to vocabulary lessons, pronunciation, a translator and more.
Online Newspaper Directory for the World Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Online Newspaper Directory for the World links to thousands of newspapers by country and region. The journals appear in their local languages, with some English versions.
Spanish. Language & Culture Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Provides interactive exercises in Spanish grammar so one may learn about Spanish culture at the same time, through photos, video and audio.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Wanda  Abrams

Wanda Abrams
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: