Mathematics

All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Mathematics Journals at Coulter Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A listing of mathematics journals available digitally and in print format through Coulter Library.

Reference and Research

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
Print Location: REF QA5 .W45 2003 Some full text available
The CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics is a compendium of mathematical definitions, formulas, figures, tabulations, and references. Its informal style makes it accessible to a broad spectrum of readers with a diverse range of mathematical backgrounds and interests.
The second edition updates most of the original entries and includes 1000 additional pages of illustrated entries.
Facts on File Dictionary of Mathematics
Print Location: REF. QA5.F35 1999 Some full text available Resource contains images
First published in 1980, this third edition contains more than 2000 entries on the terminology of modern mathematics and computer science. A lengthy Appendix includes some formulae and conversion factors. 
Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae
Print Location: REF QA47 .M315 2003
The Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae is a user-friendly guide to finding the equations, tables, and formulas most often used in academics. 

Websites

American Mathematical Society (AMS) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
This organization promotes mathematical education and research through contests, conferences, surveys, scholarship programs and publications. The website offers several interesting programs to both members and non-members. One such program Mathematical Imagery allows users to explore the world of math and art, send an e-postcard and more.
Wolfram Alpha
They collect and curate all objective data; implement every known model, method, and algorithm; and make it possible to compute whatever can be computed about anything. Perform dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods. 
Ask Dr. Math Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
A searchable archive by topic and level, this site provides a list of frequently asked questions, and a question & answer service for students and teachers.
Math Archives Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
A comprehensive site that provides information on many math topics such as Calculus; this site includes teaching materials; mathematics conference proceedings; and POP Mathematics.
Mathworld Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
This resource of almost 13,000 entries includes material on: Algebra, Applied Mathematics, Calculus and Analysis, Discrete Mathematics, Foundation of Mathematics, Geometry, History and Terminology, Number Theory, Probability Statistics, Recreational Mathematics, Topology. This site also provides a glossary of math terms.
S.O.S. Math Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
This web site reviews material on Algebra, Trigonometry, Calculus, Differential Equations, Complex Variables, and Matrix Algebra. It also provides mathematical tables.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Nina Hylen

Nina Hylen
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: