Library Science

stats image
All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes more than 690 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Books and Ebooks

How to Teach: A Practical Guide for Librarians
Print Location: ZA3075 .C73 2014
Designed for any librarian who needs to teach either one person at a time or an entire class, this book is a guide to becoming proficient in teaching users how to access, evaluate, and use information. Covers both face-to-face and online teaching and learning.
Library Publishing Toolkit
Print Location: Z716.6 .L54 2013 Some full text available Resource contains images
This toolkit looks at the broad and varied landscape of library publishing through discussions, case studies, and shared resources. From supporting writers and authors in the public library setting to hosting open access journals and books, this collection examines opportunities for libraries to leverage their position and resources to create and provide access to content.
The library : a world history
Print Location: Z721.C36 2013 Some full text available Resource contains images
Architectural historian James Campbell and photographer Will Pryce traveled the globe together, visiting and documenting over eighty libraries that exemplify the many different approaches to thinking about and designing libraries. This is one of the first books to tell the story of library architecture around the world and through time in a single volume, from ancient Mesopotamia to modern China and from the beginnings of writing to the present day.
The New Librarianship Field Guide
Print Location: Z665 .L375 2016
This book offers a guide for librarians who see their profession as a chance to make a positive difference in their communities. The author provides provides tools, arguments, resources, and ideas for fulfilling the mission of librarians to improve society by facilitating knowledge creation in their communities.
What They Don't Teach You In Library School Restricted Resource Some full text available
For MLS graduates just entering the job market, as well as individuals interested in switching gears through promotion or advancement, Doucett offers the inside scoop on what a librarian really needs to know.

Websites

American Library Association Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The American Library Association (ALA) is the oldest and largest library association in the world, providing association information, news, events, and advocacy resources for members, librarians, and library users. The ALA Library responds to inquiries from staff and members, plus others interested in, or doing research about, libraries.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text availableopenURL
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Library Systems Report 2017 Some full text available
A yearly updated look at the technologies, products, and services that support the increasingly complex work of libraries.
OCLC Research
OCLC Research is one of the world's leading centers devoted to exploration, innovation, and community building on behalf of libraries and archives. Publications cover a wide range of topics related to library science; everything from student learning and success to metadata and research data management are discussed.
Professional Organizations in the Information Sciences Some full text available
This page provides links to Internet sites maintained by various professional associations in the library and information sciences.
US Department of Education: Library Statistics Program Some full text available
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) began a nation-wide library statistics program in 1989 that now includes the Academic Libraries Survey and the School Library Media Center Survey. Collections, expenditures, services, and staffing are some of the topics covered by these surveys.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Deborah Bauder

Deborah Bauder
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: