Handmaid's Tale - Campus Common Read Resources

stats image
All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Gale Literary Sources Restricted Resource Some full text available
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across three resources, the Literature Resource Center, Litfinder and the Gale Virtual Reference Library [GVRL], to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
Humanities Source Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
As the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing - for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more, Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities.
JSTOR Some full text available Resource contains images
JSTOR provides unique access to fulltext back files for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles. 
Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio
The Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. It covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes, or combine criteria to create a customized search.
Salem Press - Literature Restricted Resource Some full text available
Salem provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned literary content both in traditional, printed form and online.

Books and Ebooks

Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale
This guide provides an overview of the key critical debates and interpretations of the novel The Handmaid's Tale.
Cambridge Companion to Utopian Literature / edited by Gregory Claeys
Print Location: PN56 .U8 C36 2010
This companion presents an extensive historical survey of the development of the concept of utopia, referencing work's including The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood.
Critical Insights: The Handmaid’s Tale
This volume includes essays about The Handmaid's Tale by a variety of critics, offering insignts into the cultural events out of which the novel grew; connections  to literary concepts such as feminism, dytopia, love; the novel's metaphysical elements; and other diverse literary topics.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Margaret Atwood’s Apocalypses
The book includes essays by a variety of Atwood scholars exploring the theme of apocalypse, including essays on The Handmaid's Tale.
Science, Gender and History: The Fantastic in Mary Shelley and Margaret Atwood
This book compares Mary Shelley and Margaret Atwood, from the perspectives of contemporary feminist, postcolonial and science studies.
The Political in Margaret Atwood's Fiction: the Writing on the Wall of the Tent
Print Location: PR9199.3 .A8 Z88 2012
This book explores the ways in which women and other groups resist the constraints placed on them by institutional oppression in several of Margaret Atwood's works, including The Handmaid's Tale.
Women's Issues in Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale
Print Location: PR9199.3.A8 H3664 2012
This title looks at issues in the The Handmaid's Tale that relate to women, such as sexism, feminism, and religious fundamentalism.
Women's Utopian and Dystopian Fiction
This work explores the genres of utopian and dystopian fiction, including one section devoted to the works of Margaret Atwood.

Reference and Research

Characters in 20th Century Literature
Print Location: REF PN56.4 .H37 199F
Includes "descriptions of over 2,000 characters, drawn from 250 of the twentieth century's major novelists, dramatists, and short story writers," arranged in alphabetical order by the authors' names
Contemporary Authors
Print Location: REF 771 .C6
A multivolume series of contemporary author biographies. Margaret Atwood can be found in v. 49-52.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Print Location: REF PN 771 .C59
CLC is a multivolume set of reference books that offer literary criticism on a range of contemorary authors.  CLC includes a set of previously published reviews, essays and other critical articles books, journals, literary magazines, interviews and websites. For information on The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood, see volumes 44, 84, 135, 168, 193.
Critical Survey of Long Fiction
Print Location: REF PN3451 .C75 2010
Critical Survey of Long Fiction includes essays of authors of literary fiction  from the 10th century to the 21st century.  See volumes 1 and 10 for entries on Margaret Atwood.
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters
Print Location: REF PN44 .M3 2015
This multivolume set of books includes 3,500 works and more than 29,000 characters.  See volume 2 to study character development in Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale.
Literature of Propaganda
Print Location: REF PN51 .L5744
This multivolume set explores literary works that deal with propaganda. An article on The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood can be found in voume 3.
Masterplots
Print Location: REF PN44 .M33
This multivolume set includes plot stories and critical evaluations of the world's finest literature. Refer to volume 5 for information on The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood.
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC)
Print Location: REF PN94 .T83
This multivolume set includes criticism of the works of contemporary novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers and other creative writers. See volume 158, page 60 for an entry on Margaret Atwood.

Websites

Purdue OWL Some full text availableopenURL
The strength of this site is its massive number of handouts and research links. Some of the topics addressed by the handouts are tips for writing argumentive essays, literary term definitions, writing about poetry, MLA and APA formatting and style guide, and much more.
Multi-Search Tool
On the library homepage you have access to a multi-search research tool that searches a large number of databases with one search. Use search terms such as "Margaret Atwood" and/or "Handmaid's Tale" to find library materials that provide biographical information about Margaret Atwood, as well criticism and interpretation of her work.

When you are on the results page you can narrow your search in numerous ways. One way is by selecting additional subjects from the subject listing in the left navigation menu. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Barbara Scheibel

Barbara Scheibel
Reference & Archives Librian
Tel: 3154982135

Return to the Subject Guide listing: