Health and Wellness

stats image
All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

AccessScience Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge offering links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations covering all major scientific disciplines. Also includes specially designed curriculum maps for teachers, and other online features.
Alt Health Watch Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Focus is on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full text articles from 1990-current from more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. Also hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. 
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
CQ Researcher provides access to in-depth, balanced, analytical reporting on current and controversial topics. Each covered topic features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens, numerous graphs and sidebar articles, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts. Coverage: 1991-present.
Health Reference Center Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health Reference Center Academic ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
New England Journal of Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Peer-reviewed original articles for those interested in medical practice. Sections include Images in Clinical Medicine, Review Articles, Editorials, Correspondence, and Case Records of the the Massachusetts General Hospital. The online version of this journal includes full text access from 1993 to the present and citation/abstract access for the 1975-1992.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Opposing Viewpoints covers controversial social issues such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, endangered species, and terrorism. This database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.

Reference and Research

Magill's Medical Guide
Print Location: REF RC41. M34
Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders.

Websites

Centers for Disease Control
Health United States reports are compiled each year by CDC’s National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). The reports include charts and trend tables covering mortality and life expectancy, morbidity and risk factors, health insurance coverage, access to and utilization of health care, and health expenditures.  Charts and tables are conveniently grouped by specific topics such as older adults, racial and ethnic groups, and state data.
eMedicineHealth
A consumer health information site that contains over 900 health and medical articles with a focus on emergency medicine, written by physicians for patients and consumers. It is owned and operated by WebMD and part of the WebMD Network.
Merck Manual Online Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, the Merck Manual is a widely-used, comprehensive medical resource for professionals and consumers.  Continuing its mission to provide the best, current medical information to a wide array of users, the entire manual is now available online.  Click here and then choose either the professional or consumer site, depending upon the type of information you need.
National Institutes of Health Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency, making important discoveries that improve health and save lives. Up-to-date research and related health information and statistics are provided on a wide variety of consumer health topics including diabetes, heart disease, exercise, cancer, asthma, mental health, depression, high blood pressure, obesity, weight loss, and many other health-related topics.
PubMed Central Some full text availableopenURL
The official repository for all federally-funded medical research accepted for publication (as mandated by the National Institute of Health's Grants Policy.)
Science.gov Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, covering a broad range of topics. Includes research and development reports.
Return to the Subject Guide listing:
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943