General

General
A select list of Coulter's resources, covering a broad range of topics and formats.
All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles with extensive coverage of business, the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. There are millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
ArticleFirst Restricted Resource
Contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of nearly 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Each record describes one article, news story, letter, or other item. (NOTE:  Provides primarily citations *only*.)
Britannica Academic Some full text available
Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use Encyclopedia Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
CQ Researcher provides access to in-depth, balanced, analytical reporting on current and controversial topics. Each covered topic features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens, numerous graphs and sidebar articles, a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts. Coverage: 1991-present.
Flipster Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Easily browse our collection of digital magazines from any computer, laptop, tablet or phone. Currently subscribe to Flipster's Top Ten best sellers, including: Rolling Stone, People, Science News and more..
General OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
General OneFile includes more than 8,000 magazine and journal titles (most in full text with no embargo) and millions of articles. This database serves a wide audience of readers and is a useful resource to find general background on a topic. To retrieve more peer-reviewed articles, use the Academic Onefile database.
MasterFILE Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This database features 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews; nearly 500 full text reference books (including the World Almanac & Book of Facts), full text from 84,074 biographies, 86,135 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary (4th Edition), and an image collection of 188,323 photos, maps and flags. MasterFILE Premier offers PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Opposing Viewpoints covers controversial social issues such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, endangered species, and terrorism. This database brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
Pop Culture Collection Restricted Resource
Access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. 

Books and Ebooks

eBooks on EBSCOhost Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
The SUNYConnect collection includes 1370 ebooks on a wide variety of topics.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
ProQuest Ebook Central is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference ebooks for multidisciplinary research.
WorldCat
This database allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and see which libraries own a particular item. Content is updated daily.

Audio/Visual

Academic Video Online (VAST) Restricted Resource Resource contains video
VAST is a collection of almost 20,000 streaming videos. It includes content in the following discipline areas: art, architecture, business, counseling, criminal justice, economics, education, history, humanities, law, nursing, philosophy, politics, science, languages, and more.
Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This collection includes thousands of online films on a wide variety of topics including business, science, health, history and more. Film lengths range from one or 2 minutes to 2 hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing. Films are linkable.
Getty images openURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Offers high resolution royalty-free images, editorial stock photos, vector art, video footage clips.
Kanopy Streaming Service Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" solution for college campuses offering over 26,000 films -- documentaries, feature films and training videos -- from thousands of producers with numerous new releases launched daily.

Websites

Google Books openURL
Google Books aims to create a comprehensive, searcheable, virtual card catalog of all books in all languages. Books in the public domain may be viewed in entirely, and others with limited contents.
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Only some of the content is full text.
Newspaper Databases
InfoTrac Newsstand
Search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. 

New York Newspapers
Full-text articles from the NYTimes and other NYS newspapers. Coverage is 1985-current.

New York Times Digital Microfilm
The NYT on digital microfilm is available for the years 2008 - current. (NOTE: There is a two month delay for additions to the database.) This resource is browseable by date but not searchable using keywords.

Post Standard (Historical)
Access digital scans of the full-text pages of the Post-Standard and other Syracuse Newspapers dating back to 1857. The archive contains public records for the Central New York region:  obituaries, births, engagements, weddings, anniversaries, high school graduations, real estate transactions, court indictments, bankruptcies, liens, tax warrants, judgments; police blotters, restaurant inspections, and more. 
Ask A Librarian | Research Help
Visit the library in person
Call us 315-498-2334
Email us a question library@sunyocc.edu
Response time for email questions is usually within 2 business days.

Chat live in real time
AskUs 24/7 live chat is a cooperative service monitored by librarians from many states and several international libraries. You may not be chatting with an OCC librarian or even a librarian from Central New York.

Research Help
Various research resources are available when you click this link, such as how to begin to research a paper, and how to evaluate and cite resources.
OCC Learning Center
OCC Learning Center
Help with writing when you need it, where you want it, FREE. Tutoring in all subject areas.  Located at G202.
315-498-2103.  
Return to the Subject Guide listing:
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943