Fire Protection Technology

All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Applied Science and Technology Source Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Providing content from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers guides, directories, conference proceedings and more, Applied Science and Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
National Fire Codes Restricted Resource Some full text available
The National Fire Codes Database gives you unlimited access to the most up-to-date standards and handbooks. Information also included for New York City, Florida, California, Hawaii, Kansas, and Oregon.

Reference and Research

Encyclopedia of Fire Protection
Print Location: REF TH9116 .N65 2006 2nd ed
This reference manual is especially useful for beginning fire protection and engineering students.  It provides the "background, meaning and description of fire protection terms in an easy A to Z format. Many entries include diagrams and other visuals. Also included is a chonolgical listing with brief descriptions of the most notable fires throughout history beginning in 300 BC Rome through 2005 Fuxin City, China. 
Fire Protection Guide to Hazardous Materials 14th ed
Print Location: REF TH9446.H38 N38 2010 -Does not circ
The information in this Guide can be used to identify the hazardous properties of most of the chemicals in commercial use today, as well as many that are available only in laboratory sample quantities. With the data and recommendations in this Guide, one can take the proper steps to prevent fire and other emergencies during the use, storage, and transportation of chemicals and can make informed decisions on the procedures to follow in an emergency involving chemicals.
Fire Protection Handbook
Print Location: REF TH9115 .N37 2008 20th ed
Two volume set with 3,500 pages cover the total spectrum of fire protection issues. Published by the National Fire Protection Association, the newest edition includes chapters on Premises Security, Protecting Againgst Extreme Events, Flammability Hazard of Materials, and Strategies for Occupant Evacuation During Emergencies. Thousands of visuals in the form of photos, tables, charts, illustrations, and diagrams are included. 

Websites

Association of Fire Districts in New York State
A not-for-profit corporation that "works to improve the fiscal responsibility, efficiency and effectiveness of the fire district management through education, training and advocacy for commissioners and other fire district officials in the 57 counties outside of the City of New York."
International Association for Fire Safety Science
Free student membership available. Includes free digital access to Elsevier’s Fire Safety Journal and Springer’s Fire Technology. Digital archives of Symposium Proceedings. A Fire ReSearch Engine that indexes relevant fire science literature.
International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC)
Find resources for fire protection, hazardous materials, safety & health, disaster management and more.
National Association of State Fire Marshalls
NASFM Fire Research and Education Foundation fire incident data reports. 
National Fire Protection Association
NFPA is the leading information and knowledge resource on fire, electrical and related hazards. Free access to NFPA codes and standards. Articles, Safety Tip Sheets and online training. Produces reports and statistics on loss of life and property from fire.
New York State Fire Marshalls & Inspectors Association
Training, conferences, links to articles, current codes. The 'new' Unifrom Code and Energy Code went into effect 10/2/2016. Also includes useful links to other associations and organizations.
New York State Fire Prevention and Building Code Council
The Council is comprised of 17 members appointed by the Governor. It is "empowered to maintain and periodically update the Uniform Fire Prevention and Building Code and State Energy Conservation Construction Code, and to adopt higher or more restrictive local standards upon the recommendation of local governments. The members of this group represent architects, engineers, builders, trade unions, persons with disabilities, code enforcement, fire prevention, villages, towns, cities, counties, state agencies, the State Fire Administrator and the Secretary of State."
OCC Career and Applied Learning Center [CAL]
The Center offers workshops on resumé writing, writing cover letters, interviewing techniques, and how to conduct a job search. Upcoming Events.

For those students and alumni seeking employment, there is a list of local job openings available on this site. The listing includes internships, part-time, full-time, temporary and permanent jobs. This list is updated regularly so check back often.

CAL is located in the Coulter Hall Room 110. Contact (315) 498-2585
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
OSHA is assigned by Congress to ensure safe working conditions by setting and enforcing standards. Links to publications, statistics, standards OSHA Fire Safety Standards, the Regulatory Agenda (a list of actions being taken with regard to OSHA Standards0, directives (instructions for compliance officers), and national concensus standards related to fire safety. 
Society of Fire Protection Engineers
SFPE is a global professional society that represents those practicing the field of fire protection engineering. Its purpose is to “advance the science and practice of fire protection engineering and its allied fields, to maintain a high ethical standard among its members and to foster fire protection engineering education.” It produces several publications including Fire Technology and Fire Protection Engineering, and offers courses and webinars. Career information and job postings.
U.S. Fire Administration
USFA provides national leadership concerning fire prevention, preparedness and response. Search for statistics, news, topics and more.
OCC Fire Protection Technology A.A.S.
The objective of OCC's program is to impart the fire skills, knowledge and understanding necessary to handle the challenges and demands of the fire protection profession. The program emphasizes effective fire awareness, tactics, and operations; qualities necessary for fire administration, command and managerial positions; and the development of advanced skills to allow you to assume a contributing role in the delivery of fire protection services.
Ask A Librarian \ Research Help
Visit the library in person
Call us 315-498-2334
Email us a question library@sunyocc.edu
Response time for email questions is usually within 2 business days.

Chat live in real time
AskUs 24/7 live chat is a cooperative service monitored by librarians from many states and several international libraries. You may not be chatting with an OCC librarian or even a librarian from Central New York.

Research Help
Various research resources are available when you click this link, such as how to begin to research a paper, and how to evaluate and cite resources.
OCC Career Services
Career Services
Offers workshops on resumé writing, writing cover letters, interviewing techniques, and how to conduct a job search. Upcoming Events.
 
For those students and alumni seeking employment, there is a list of local job openings available on this site. The listing includes internships, part-time, full-time, temporary and permanent jobs. This list is updated regularly so check back often.
 
Located in the Coulter Hall Room 110. Contact (315) 498-2585 
Return to the Subject Guide listing:
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Margaret Elliott

Margaret Elliott
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943