Food Service

All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

AccessScience Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge offering links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations covering all major scientific disciplines. Also includes specially designed curriculum maps for teachers, and other online features.
 
Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business Source Complete provides full text back to 1965 (or the first issue published for that journal) and searchable cited references back as far as 1998. Full text coverage is available in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Culinary Arts Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
The Culinary Arts collection includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
Statista Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Statista is an online resource for statistical data. It provides statistics on more than 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. Data is categorized into 21 market sectors. Sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Statistics are displayed in graphs and can be downloaded in a number of formats including Power Point and Excel. 
 

Books and Ebooks

Food Service Manual For Health Care Institutions (4th ed) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This book provides the latest information on food systems management, operations, quality, ethics, regulations, and customers. It provides information to assist students in using the latest information, charts, forms, formulas, policies, techniques, and references for operating in the foodservice environment.

Reference and Research

Food And Drink In American History
Print Location: Ref. TX 349 .F5716 2013 Some full text available
This three-volume encyclopedia on the history of American food and beverages serves as an ideal companion resource for social studies and American history courses, covering topics ranging from early American Indian foods to mandatory nutrition information at fast food restaurants.

Audio/Visual

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
This collection includes thousands of online films on a wide variety of topics including business, science, health, history and more. Film lengths range from one or 2 minutes to 2 hours or more. Longer films are broken down into segments for easier viewing. Films are linkable.
Kanopy Streaming Service Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" solution for college campuses offering over 26,000 films -- documentaries, feature films and training videos -- from thousands of producers with numerous new releases launched daily.

Websites

American Culinary Federation-ACF Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The American Culinary Federation, Inc. (ACF), a professional, organization for chefs and cooks, was founded in 1929. ACF is the culinary leader in offering educational resources, training, apprenticeship and programmatic accreditation designed to enhance professional growth for all current and future chefs and pastry chefs.
Epicurious.com Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video
Epicurious is an informational website about food and cookery. The site's features include a recipe database; a message board; interviews with renowned chefs; and articles pertaining to food preparation, hospitality in the home, restaurant dining, and culinary tourism.
Epicurious is owned by Condé Nast Publications and operated by Condé Nast Digital. The recipes on the site are selected from the repertoires of professional chefs and home cooks, as well as from back issues of Condé Nast's magazines Bon Appétit, Gourmet, and Self.
Food and Nutrition Information Center Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video
The Food and Nutrition Information Center - is a leader in food and human nutrition information dissemination since 1971 - provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.
Food Safety Research Information Office Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The Food Safety Research Information Office was mandated by the United States Congress to support the needs of the research community in accordance with the Agricultural Research, Extension and Education Reauthorization Act of 1997. Launched on July 2, 2001, FSRIO focuses on collecting, organizing and disseminating food safety research information via its Web site which features the Research Projects Database showcasing research activities funded by U.S. and International government agencies and other non-governmental organizations.
FoodReference.com Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Food history; modern recipes; classic and ancient recipes; food quotes and culinary quotes; food trivia, facts and events; culinary humor, poetry, crosswords and weekly newsletter.
National Restaurant Association Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video
 This is the largest food service trade association in the world. They represent and advocate for the food service industry's interests with state, local and national policymakers—taking on financial and regulatory obstacles before they hit members’ bottom line.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Wanda  Abrams

Wanda Abrams
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: