International Students / ESOL

Welcome!
Welcome to Coulter Library! We are here to help you. Feel free to ask for assistance at any service desk in the library.

To get started in finding a book, article, or in researching a topic, go to Research Help below the "Find Almost Anything" search box on the library's web page. If you still have questions, please ask a librarian for help.
All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

SCOLA Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
SCOLA's mission is to help the people of the world learn about each other; their cultures; their languages; and their ideologies.  SCOLA receives and re-transmits foreign TV programming from around the world and provides other foreign language resources, language lessons, and learning materials on its website. SCOLA emphasizes the importance and effectiveness of modern information technology as a tool in overcoming barriers to global understanding.  

Books and Ebooks

Cracking the TOEFL iBT
Print Location: PE1128.3 .C74 2015
One full length simulated TOEFL iBT; practice drills for speaking, listening, reading and writing sections.
Linguistic Structure of Modern English, The Restricted Resource Some full text available
An extensive introduction to all aspects of modern English structure, appropriate for advanced students interested in contemporary English and English as a second language.

Reference and Research

Dictionary of Confusable Words
Print Location: REF PE1591 .D53 2000
English has quite a few words similar in meaning, spelling or pronunciation. This book simply and clearly distinguishes these easily confused words.
Merriam-Webster's Advanced Learner's English Dictionary
Print Location: REF PE1628 .M354 2008
Dedicated specifically to the needs of learners of English as a second language, this dictionary covers both American and British English. The entries reflect language that users are most likely to need and encounter in their daily lives, and it provides clear descriptions of idioms.
Rules for Writers 8th ed.
Print Location: REF PE1408 .H277 2016
This maual provides clear explanations for all aspects of academic writing, including research papers in MLA and APA styles. Covers the 2016 MLA documentation update.

It includes a practical section for "Multilingual Writers and ESL challenges."

 

Audio/Visual

Crossing Borders
Print Location: DVD2602 Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A documentary of four Moroccan and four American college students traveling together who learn about themselves as they get to know each other and their cultures.
2013
Easy English
Print Location: MEDIA CD Miscellaneous Language CD 3603 Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A 3-disc set of 20 lessons with accompanying book for learning English.
Sounds of English openURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Audio practice exercises, handouts and diagrams of the shape of the mouth for perfecting the English speaking accent, as well as help with spelling and reading.
Teach Yourself American English
Print Location: MEDIA CD Miscellaneous Language CD 3604 Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A 2-disc set of 10 lessons with accompanying textbook for learning English.
The Dialogue: Discoveries of Culture, Identity and Communication
Print Location: DVD2603 Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Eight college students, four Chinese, four American, travel together in China, and discover the challenges and rewards of intercultural communication.
2013

Websites

1-language.com Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains audio
Provides a variety of helps including listening tests in American English, games and quizzes, a universal dictionary, articles of interest to ESOL students and more.
Ask-A-Librarian Some full text availableopenURL
?Coulter Library offers many ways for you to contact a librarian:

Visit the library in person, call us 315-498-2334, email us a question or chat live in real time. Response time for email questions is usually within 2 business days.

If you use the AskUs 24/7 chat reference service, you will be able to chat live with a librarian. AskUs 24/7 is a cooperative service monitored by librarians from many states and several international libraries. You may not be chatting with an OCC librarian or even a librarian from Central New York.
Dave's ESL Cafe Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Provides resources for ESOL instructors and students, including language exercises, forum boards, a job and resume posting site and more.
Interesting Things for ESL Students Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A compendium of word games, puzzles, quizzes, slang, proberbs, pronunciation exercises and more for learners of English and may be of interest for native speakers as well.
Library Services Some full text availableopenURL
This web page explains the services which the library offers for all students. Brief tours of the library are available; please ask!
OCC Career and Applied Learning Center [CAL]
The Center offers workshops on resumé writing, writing cover letters, interviewing techniques, and how to conduct a job search. Upcoming Events.

For those students and alumni seeking employment, there is a list of local job openings available on this site. The listing includes internships, part-time, full-time, temporary and permanent jobs. This list is updated regularly so check back often.

CAL is located in the Coulter Hall Room 110. Contact (315) 498-2585
OCC Learning Center openURL
Help with writing when you need it, where you want it, FREE. The OCC Learning Center offers tutoring in all subject areas.  Services specific to writing and English are as follows:

1. One-on-one tutoring, usually for an hour a week.

2. NightWriter - This service combines technology with evening hours to provide nightime help with writing through WCOnline.  Students have the option of chatting with a tutor live or uploading a paper for offline comments Sunday through Thursday evenings, 9-11 PM. Tutors also are available to read and comment on written assignments on those evenings 11 PM to midnight.  Log in to WCOnline to learn more.  

Learning Center Phone: 315-498-2103.  Located at G202.
Online Newspaper Directory for the World Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Online Newspaper Directory for the World links to thousands of newspapers by country and region. The journals appear in their local languages, with some English versions.
Purdue OWL Some full text availableopenURL
The strength of this site is its massive number of handouts and research links. Some of the topics addressed by the handouts are tips for writing argumentive essays, literary term definitions, writing about poetry, MLA and APA formatting and style guide, and much more.
World Lingo Online Language Dictionaries Some full text availableopenURL
Provides links to free online dictionaries for many languages.
Translation of articles from databases
Journal articles may be translated into other languages.

Currently, Academic Search Complete and other EBSCO databases offer translation of their articles in HTML. At the top of the article there is a pull-down menu for languages. Select one, then click the "Translate" box next to it.

Academic OneFile and other Gale databases offer translation of all their articles. After finding an article, go to the "Tools" box at the right of it, then choose a language from the drop-down menu at the bottom.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Wanda  Abrams

Wanda Abrams
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943