Electronic Media Communications

All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The Association’s mission is to promote the highest possible standards for journalism and mass communication education.
Today, the association has 3,700 members from 50 countries that affiliate among 18 divisions, 10 interest groups and two commissions.
 
Communications & Mass Media Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This is a database collection geared towards electronic communication and mass media, and it is established by Gale Group.
New York Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
New York Newspapers provides access to full-text articles from the New York Times and other New York state newspapers. Full text articles are searchable from present date back to the late 1990s for most titles in this database.
Post Standard - Archive Some full text available Resource contains images
Historical archive of the Syracuse Post-Standard and all the past newspapers in its family tree. The full-page newspapers in this collection, which chronicle the last 180 years of CNY history, are searchable by keyword and date.

Books and Ebooks

Managing the Digital You
Print Location: POPULAR CD974.4 .C65 2017 Some full text available
Where and How to Keep and Organize Your Digital Life is a much-needed guide for those struggling with how to manage and preserve their digital items. 
Move Fast and Break Things
Print Location: HM851 .T365 2017
How Facebook, Google, and Amazon cornered culture and undermined democracy.

Reference and Research

Encyclopedia of children, adolescents, and the media
Print Location: REF HQ784.M3 E53 2007 Some full text available
From Internet censorship to violence on television and in video games to debates over rock lyrics, the media and their effect on children and adolescents.

Audio/Visual

Docuseek2 Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains video
This website of 3200 titles (available in the United States and Canada) includes independent documentaries, as well as, videos on educational and social issues. Search results provide the following information for each item: complete title, format (16mm,video,or DVD), release year, thorough description, grade level, and awards received.

Websites

ABC News Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
ABC News provides world and national news, health, entertainment, politics, technology, travel information, and broadcast video coverage. ABC TV began broadcasting in 1948. Currently, its special broadcasts such as Nightline and 20/20 draw wide audiences.
Al Jazeera English Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Al Jazeera began in 1996 as the first independent news channel in the Arab world. Al Jazeera America is part of the Al Jazeera network and is an award-winning, international news channel with over sixty bureaus, spanning six different continents. The channel broadcasts to over 250 million households across 130 countries.
BBC World Television and Radio Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The British Broadcasting Corporation began broadcasting in 1922 and is now a global provider of news, television, and radio programming. It offers objective news from throughout the world. The above link will take you to news and analysis in 27 languages, including Welsh and Swahili.
Canadian Broadcasting Company Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
This comprehensive broadcasting company covers news, sports, business and entertainment, with a complete guide to CBC-TV and CBC-Radio. CBC-TV began broadcasting in 1952.
CBS News Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
CBS News is a highly-respected major news network. It includes all breaking world and national news, business, politics, sports, and entertainment. The very successful 60 Minutes, broadcast weekly by CBS, began in 1968; it offers interviews, investigative reports and more.
CNN Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio

CNN provides the latest top stories, business, weather, politics and entertainment from around the United States, and around the world. It began broadcasting in 1980 and became the first station to provide 24 hour news coverage.


College Media Association Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
College Media Association is dedicated to serving the needs of collegiate student media programs and their advisers.
Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
This website is that of a private non-profit corporation formed in 1967 by Congress. The CPB funds local radio and television stations, provides non-commercial programming, and makes improvements to the public broadcasting system.
Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
This website is that of the FCC established in 1934; this independent government agency regulates interstate and international communications by television, radio, cable, wire and satellite.
Library of American Broadcasting Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Library of American Broadcasting's main mission is to make the past and present of broadcasting accessible to the world at large. The breadth and depth of LAB collections are indicated by its 8,000 books, more than 6,000 audio tapes, 7,000 pamphlets, 300 periodical titles, 8,000 recorded discs, 2,000 scripts and a growing collection of video and film material.
National Public Radio (NPR) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains audio
NPR (National Public Radio) is a producer and distributor of noncommercial news, talk, and entertainment programming. A privately supported, not-for-profit membership organization, NPR works in partnership with independently operated, noncommercial public radio stations around the United States.
NBC News Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
NBC TV started broadcasting in New York in 1939. This major news network provides the latest U.S. and world news including subjects such as business, politics, science, technology, health, and more. In 1954, NBC made its first color broadcast nationwide.
Online Newspapers of the World Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online Newspaper Directory of the World listed by Country and Region.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Timur Saka

Timur Saka
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: