Education (General)

stats image
All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Education Next Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A quarterly scholarly journal of the Hoover Institution that explores issues relating to education policy and K-12 education reform in the United States. It is published by the Hoover Institution Press within Stanford University.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) Restricted Resource Some full text available
ERIC is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. EBSCO's version of the ERIC database provides journal articles and reports on education topics. Coverage: 1966-present. Updated: monthly. 

Books and Ebooks

A School of Our Own: The Story of the First Student-Run High School and a New Vision for American Education
Print Location: LA306.G74 L48 2016
Tells the remarkable story of the Independent Project, the first student-run high school in America. Founder Samuel Levin was a high school junior who was frustrated with his own education and saw disaffection among his peers. In response, he lobbied for and created a new school based on a few simple ideas about what kids need from their high school experience. The school succeeded beyond anyone's wildest expectations and has served as a national model for inspiring student engagement since its beginnings.
Race, Equity, and the Learning Environment
Print Location: LC196 .R327 2016
Focusing on the higher education learning environment, this volume illuminates the global relevance of critical and inclusive pedagogies (CIP), and demonstrates how their application can transform the teaching and learning process and promote more equitable educational outcomes among all students, but especially racially minoritized students.
The Teacher Wars: A History of America’s Most Embattled Profession
Print Location: LA212.G65 2014
The Teacher Wars upends the conversation about American education by bringing the lessons of history to bear on the dilemmas we confront today. This lively, character-driven history of public teaching guides us through American education’s many passages, including the feminization of teaching in the 1800s and the fateful growth of unions, and shows that the battles fought over nearly two centuries echo the very dilemmas we cope with today.
U.S. National Debate Topic 2017-2018: Education Reform
Print Location: LA217.2.U8 2017
Contains reprints from articles, excerpts from books, and addresses on current issues that provide background information and discussion from various points of view on the issue of Education Reform.

Reference and Research

101 Careers in Education
Print Location: CAREER ISLAND LB1775.2 .C38 2016
Introduction to a career in Education. The job-search process including resources and approaches.
Encyclopedia of Education
Print Location: REF LB15 .E47 2003 8
This encyclopedia reflects the dramatic changes that have occurred in the last three decades, such as the end of the Cold War and the advent of the Internet. Although focused on U.S. practices, it provides a fair coverage of international issues.
Opposing Viewpoints: Education
Print Location: REF AC191 .O65 2014 EDUCATION
This book provides a collection of essays dealing with education such as testing in education, school unions, alternative schools, merit pay etc...
School Reform
Print Location: REF AC191 .O65 2015
This collection of articles pro and con on school reform debates the policies that should guide reform; how students, teachers, and schools should be evaluated; the role of school choice in reform; and whether curriculum content should be reformed.

Audio/Visual

Ed.flicks Resource contains video
Supporting early childhood professionals worldwide in their efforts to craft environments where adults and children thrive. Exchange training videos on demand.
Edutopia Resource contains video
Offers a comprehensive website and an online community that increases knowledge, sharing, and adoption of what works in K-12 education. Explore videos that showcase evidence-based learning practices in K-12 schools, and find resources to help you implement six transformational strategies: project-based learning, social and emotional learning, comprehensive assessment, teacher development, integrated studies, and technology integration.
PICS4LEARNING Resource contains images
Pics4Learning is a curated image library that is safe and free for education. Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos and illustrations for classroom projects, web sites, videos, portfolios, or any other projects in an educational setting.
TED Talks - Education Resource contains video
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to education — in more than 100 languages.
Watch - Know - Learn Resource contains video
WatchKnowLearn has indexed approximately 50,000 educational videos, placing them into a directory of over 5,000 categories. The videos are available without any registration or fees to teachers in the classroom, as well as parents and students. Users can dive into our innovative directory or search for videos by subject and age level. Video titles, descriptions, age level information, and ratings are all edited for usefulness.

Websites

Digest of Education Statistics Some full text availableopenURL
American education statistics, including number of schools, number of teachers, enrollment rates, finance information and a host of other tables and charts. The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The National Center for Education Statistics is the primary entity charged with the collection of data and statistics related to education in the United States. Offered here are data and datasets, data tools, "fast facts", surveys, programs, publications, and school searches in all levels of education both public and private.
New York State Education Department - Curriculum Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Education content standards for grades K-12 for the state of New York. This website provides the academic standards and proficiencies set for students at each grade level in areas such as language, math, science, social studies, and more. Standards available in PDF format.
U.S. Department of Education - Data & Statistics Some full text available Resource contains images
U.S. Department of Education is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. There are popular datasets available at the website including the College Scorecard, Federal Student Loan Program Data, Special Education, Campus Safety, and Security Survey.
U.S. Department of Education Some full text availableopenURL
The mission of the U.S. Department of Education is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access. Information is provided on student grants, loans, federal education laws, and federal education data.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Deborah Bauder

Deborah Bauder
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: