Elementary Education

All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Education Digest
Education Digest journal covers the entire education field from pre-elementary to college levels for school libraries and administrators, superintendents, supervisors and principals.
Education Next Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A quarterly scholarly journal of the Hoover Institution that explores issues relating to education policy and K-12 education reform in the United States. It is published by the Hoover Institution Press within Stanford University.?
Education Source Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
As the complete source of education scholarship, Education Source covers all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education - as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Elementary Education Journals Restricted Resource
Listing of journals pertaining to elementary education found via Coulter Library databases.  Off-campus login required.
ERIC (from Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's version of the ERIC database provides journal articles and reports on education topics. Coverage: 1966-present. Updated: monthly. 

Books and Ebooks

Education - Debates
Print Location: LA217.2 .E38 2002
This book includes series of articles on issues in U.S. education like Education and the workforce,  All children tested, but many left behind, Yes, smaller class sizes are a key to educational success, The debate over class size etc...
It's ok to go up the slide
Print Location: HQ769 .S545333 2016
Shumaker takes on new hot-button issues with renegade rules such as: - Recess Is A Right - It's Ok Not To Kiss Grandma - Ban Homework in Elementary School

Reference and Research

Encyclopedia of education
Print Location: REF LB15 .E47 2003 8
This encyclopedia reflects the dramatic changes that have occurred in the last three decades, such as the end of the Cold War and the advent of the Internet. Although focused on U.S. practices, it provides a fair coverage of international issues.

Audio/Visual

Edutopia Resource contains video
Explore videos that showcase evidence-based learning practices in K-12 schools, and see our core strategies and key topics in action. Edutopia is established by George Lucas Educational Foundation. It offers a comprehensive website and an online community that increases knowledge, sharing, and adoption of what works in K-12 education.
PICS4LEARNING Resource contains images
Pics4Learning is a curated image library that is safe and free for education. Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos and illustrations for classroom projects, web sites, videos, portfolios, or any other projects in an educational setting.

Websites

Center for Public Education Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
This joint initiative of the National School Boards Association and National School Boards Foundation offers articles about public schools, guides to current education issues, a glossary of education terms, and summaries of recent research.
Common Core - US Dept of Education
This is a US government website defining key terms about the Common Core Standards as well as debunking myths surrounding the new standards.  
Engage NY
This site is NYS Department of Education's response to the Common Core Standards.  Updates and requirements for NYS schools are posted to this site.   Principals, teachers, and other educators will check this site for best practice and news about the new standards.  
New York State Education Department - Curriculum Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Education content standards for grades K-12 for the state of New York. This website provides the academic standards and proficiencies set for students at each grade level in areas such as language, math, science, social studies, and more. Standards available in PDF format.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Timur Saka

Timur Saka
Reference Librarian (Part time)
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: