Early Childhood Education

stats image
All Items by Source

Articles and Databases

Education Next Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A quarterly scholarly journal of the Hoover Institution that explores issues relating to education policy and K-12 education reform in the United States. It is published by the Hoover Institution Press within Stanford University.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) Restricted Resource Some full text available
ERIC is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. EBSCO's version of the ERIC database provides journal articles and reports on education topics. Coverage: 1966-present. Updated: monthly. 
Education Source Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
As the complete source of education scholarship, Education Source covers all levels of education - from early childhood to higher education - as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Books and Ebooks

Handbook of Early Childhood Teacher Education
Print Location: LB1732.3 .H36 2016
This handbook synthesizes both contemporary research and best practices in early childhood teacher education. The first volume of its kind, it provides comprehensive coverage on key topics in the field, including the history of early childhood teacher education programs, models for preparing early childhood educators, pedagogical approaches to supporting diverse learners, and contemporary influences on this quickly expanding area of study.
It's OK to Go Up the Slide
Print Location: HQ769 .S545333 2016
Author Heather Shumaker has sparked much discussion with her "renegade rules for raising competent and compassionate kids". In this book, she takes on new hot-button issues like banning homework, technology use, and skipping kindergarten.
The Great Disconnect in Early Childhood Education: What We Know vs. What We Do
Print Location: LB1139.25.G73 2015
This book examines the disconnect between public policy and classroom practice, and discusses what educators need to change in order to teach children well.

Reference and Research

Early Childhood Education: an International Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF LB1139.23 .E272 2007
This four volume reference work covers historical and contemporary issues and current research on early childhood development and education. While mainly focusing on the U.S., educational practices of representative nations in Europe, Asia, Africa and South America are presented.

Audio/Visual

Ed.flicks Resource contains video
Supporting early childhood professionals worldwide in their efforts to craft environments where adults and children thrive. Exchange training videos on demand.
Edutopia Resource contains video
Offers a comprehensive website and an online community that increases knowledge, sharing, and adoption of what works in K-12 education. Explore videos that showcase evidence-based learning practices in K-12 schools, and find resources to help you implement six transformational strategies: project-based learning, social and emotional learning, comprehensive assessment, teacher development, integrated studies, and technology integration.

Websites

Global Family Research Project Some full text availableopenURL
The Global Family Research Project connects research, policy, and practice to support a community of people dedicated to advancing children’s learning and development. They foster collaboration among child- and family-serving organizations so they can create equitable learning pathways across time and place. They strengthen knowledge and skills through technical assistance, professional development, and evaluation.
Head Start Some full text availableopenURL
The Office of Head Start (OHS) helps young children from low-income families prepare to succeed in school through local programs. Head Start and Early Head Start programs promote children's development through services that support early learning, health, and family well-being.
Literacy Center.Net Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
The Literacy Center empowers parents and teachers of Dual Language Learners (DLLs) and English Language Learners (ELLs) with free education games, activities, and learning tools. Encourages playful learning of home languages and strategic mapping between the home language and English.
National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) openURL Resource contains images
The nation's largest organization of early childhood professionals "dedicated to improving the quality of early childhood education programs from birth through age eight."
 
National Institute for Early Education Research (NIEER) Some full text availableopenURL
Contains a wealth of information about preschool programs and early education policy, including full-text research reports, links to news events, and a listing of state requirements for early education.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Deborah Bauder

Deborah Bauder
Reference Librarian
Tel: 3154982943

Return to the Subject Guide listing: